GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING

LOK SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO. 248 (TO BE ANSWERED ON 04.01.2018)

PROPAGATION OF EDUCATION BY DOORDARSHAN

*248. SHRI ARJUN LAL MEENA:

Will the Minister of INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING be pleased to state

- (a) the number of channels being telecast by Doordarshan for the propagation of education in the country;
- (b) the names of the States where the programmes of the said channels are being telecast:
- (c) whether the Government proposes to start a special Gyan Darshan channel for the tribal people;
- (d) if so, the details thereof and the time by which the said channel is likely to be started: and
- (e) if not, the reasons therefor?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING (SMT. SMRITI ZUBIN IRANI)

(a) to (e): A statement is laid on the Table of the House.

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (e) OF LOK SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO. 248 FOR ANSWER ON 04.01.2018.

- (a): Prasar Bharati has informed that Doordarshan does not have a dedicated educational channel. However, as per the mandate of Prasar Bharati to inform, educate and entertain, the 23 Satellite Channels of Doordarshan broadcast programme for propagation of education also.
- (b) The name of the States are attached at **Annexure.** However, the programme of these channels is available throughout the Country through satellite transmission.
- (c) to (e) At present there is no such proposal. Doordarshan has entered into an MOU with IGNOU for facilitating the up linking of Gyan Darshan Channel

ANNEXURE

ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (b) OF LOK SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO.248 FOR ANSWER ON 04.01.2018

The All India 24x7 Satellite Channels are the following:

- 1. DD-National
- 2. DD-News
- 3. DD-Sports
- 4. DD-Bharati
- 5. DD-Urdu
- 6. DD-Kisan
- 7. DD-India

Regional Language Satellite Channels (24x7)

1. DD-Malayalam - Kerala

DD-Bengali (DD-Bengla) - West Bengal
 DD-Telugu (DD-Yadagiri) - Telangana
 DD-Gujarati (DD-Girinar) - Gujarat

5. DD-North East - Entire North East

6. DD-Bihar - Bihar

7. DD-Tamil (DD-Podhigai) - Tamilnadu
 8. DD-Kannada (DD-Chandana) - Karnataka
 9. DD-Marathi (DD-Sahyadri) - Maharashtra

10. DD-Punjabi - Punjab

11. DD-UP - Uttar Pradesh

12. DD-Oriya - Odhisha

13. DD-Telugu (DD-Saptagiri) - Andhra Pradesh 14. DD-Kashmiri (DD-Kashir) - Jammu & Kashmir

15. DD-Rajasthan - Rajasthan

16. DD-MP - Madhya Pradesh