#### GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF POWER

# LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.916 TO BE ANSWERED ON 20.07.2017

#### **OLD POWER PLANTS**

#### 916. SHRI R. DHRUVA NARAYANA:

Will the Minister of POWER be pleased to state:

- (a) whether Thermal Power Plants are more than 25 years old which are to be scrapped as they emit more gases which is dangerous to the environment as reported in the section of media;
- (b) if so, the details of the Thermal Plants to be scrapped, State-wise;
- (c) whether the Union Government has taken any effective steps to check the crises of power problem if these Thermal Plants are scrapped; and
- (d) if so, the details thereof?

#### ANSWER

### THE MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) FOR POWER, COAL, NEW & RENEWABLE ENERGY AND MINES

#### (SHRI PIYUSH GOYAL)

(a) to (d): The emission of gases from Thermal Power Plants depend on its operation & maintenance, condition, technical parameters, quality of fuel etc. rather than the age of the plant. In order to conserve scarce natural resources like land, water and coal, Central Electricity Authority, in consultation with various Power Utilities, have identified coal based plants of 9456.5 MW in Govt. Sector which are more than 25 years old, for retirement in a phased manner on the basis of their inefficiency and un-economic operation. Out of above capacity, 3950 MW have been retired so far. The details of various units retired/identified for retirement, state wise are annexed.

Decision to retire units are taken by respective power utility after due consultation with various stake holders such as DISCOMS, Transmission utilities etc. keeping in view grid stability, alternative source of power among other aspects. There is no shortage of generating capacity in the country.

\*\*\*\*\*

## ANNEX REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (d) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.916 TO BE ANSWERED IN THE LOK SABHA ON 20.07.2017.

\*\*\*\*\*\*

#### List of Thermal Power Units Retired / Identified to be retired

#### (A) Coal based Units Retired in Govt. Sector [Since Sept.'15 to June' 17]

	Name of the Utility	Name of the Station	Unit No.	Capacity	Date of deletion	
SI.					from National	
No.				(MW)	Installed Capacity	
				` '	by CEA	
		Madhy	a Pradesh	L		
		Amarkantak TPS				
1	MPPGCL	(2x120 MW)	3 & 4	240	04.03.2016	
			aryana	L		
		Panipat TPS				
2	HPGCL	(4x110 MW)	1 to 4	440	12.04.2016	
			arashtra			
3	MAHAGENCO	Koradi TPS	1 to 4	420	02.08.2016	
		(4x105 MW)				
4	MAHAGENCO	Chandrapur TPS	1 & 2	420	21.10.2016	
4		(2X210 MW)				
5	MAHAGENCO	Parli TPS	3	210	21.10.2016	
6	MSPGCL	Koradi TPS	5	200	24.04.2017.	
		Wes	t Bengal			
7	DVC	Durgapur TPS	3	140	21.10.2016	
	WBPDCL	Santaldih TPS	1 to 4	480	21.12.2016	
8		(4x120 MW)				
9	DPL	DPL TPS	3	70	20.02.2017	
10	DPL	DPL TPS	4	75		
11	DPL	DPL TPS	5	75		
		Tan	nil Nadu			
	TANGEDCO	Ennore TPS				
12		(2x60 + 3x110	1 to 5	450	12.01.2017	
		MW)				
		G	ujarat			
13	GSECL	Gandhinagar TPS	1 & 2	240	12.01.2017	
13		(2x120 MW)				
		Jha	rkhand			
14	DVC	Chandrapur TPS	1	130	17.01.2017	
	PVUNL	Patratu TPS	1 2 3	360	21.12.2016	
15		(3x50 +100+110	1, 2, 3,			
		MW)	5 & 8			
			Total:	3950		
	•			•	•	

### (B) Coal based Units in Govt. Sector identified for retirement

SI. No.	Name of the Utility	Name of the	Unit No.	Capacity (MW)	
	•	Ass	am		
1	APGCL	Chandrapur TPS	1 & 2	60	
	•	Guja	rat		
2	GSECL	Sikka TPS		1	120
3	GSECL	Ukai TPS (2)	1 & 2	240	
		Del	hi		
4	IPGCL	Rajghat TPS	(2 x 67.5 MW)	1 & 2	135
5	NTPC LTD.	Badarpur TPS	(3 x 95 MW)	1, 2 & 3	285
		Madhya I	Pradesh		
6	MPPGCL	Satpura TPS	(200 + 210 MW)	6 & 7	410
7	MPPGCL	Satpura TPS	(2 X 210 MW)	8 & 9	420
		Punj	ab		
8	PSPCL	Ropar TPS	(2 X 210 MW)	1 & 2	420
9	PSPCL	GND (Bathinda) TPS	6 (2 X 110 MW)	1 & 2	220
10	PSPCL	Ropar TPS	(2 x 210 MW)	3 & 4	420
	•	Chhatti	sgarh		
11	CSPGCL	Korba East TPS	(4 x 50 MW)	1,2,3 & 4	200
	•	Uttar Pı	adesh		
12	UPRVUNL	Harduaganj		5	60
13	UPRVUNL	Obra TPS	(40 + 50 MW)	1 & 2	90
14	UPRVUNL	Obra TPS		8	94
15	UPRVUNL	Panki TPS	(2 x 105 MW)	3 & 4	210
	•	Jhark	hand		
16	PVUNL	Patratu TPS	(50 + 100 + 3x110	4, 6, 7,	400
		MW)		9 & 10	480
17	DVC	Chandrapur TPS	(2 x 130 MW)	2 & 3	260
	•	Tamil	Nadu		
18	NLC	Nevyeli Lignite TPS-I	(6 x 50 + 3 x	1 to 9 600	
10	NLC	100 MW)		1 to 9	600
		Telan	gana		
19	TSPGCL	Kothagudem TPS	(4 x 60 MW)	1 to 4	240
20	TSPGCL	Kothagudem TPS	(4 x 120 MW)	5 to 8	480
		Ramagundam-B TPS		_	- CO F
21	TSPGCL	Ramagunda	m-B 173	1	62.5

Grand Total: 9456.5 MW

\*\*\*\*\*\*