GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF CULTURE LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 65 TO BE ANSWERED ON 17.07.2017

SCHOLARSHIPS TO ARTISTS

65: SHRI RAVINDRA KUMAR PANDEY:

Will the MINISTER OF CULTURE be pleased to state:

- (a) whether financial help/scholarships are being provided to young artists for propagating, spreading and building their local culture in different parts of the country including Jharkhand;
- (b) if so, the State-wise details of the States and artists who have been provided funds during the last two years; and;
- (C) the steps taken/being taken by the Government to further motivate the artists?

ANSWER MINISTER OF STATE (IC) FOR CULTURE & TOURISM

(DR. MAHESH SHARMA)

- (a) Yes, Madam. The Government is implementing Scheme of Scholarships to Young Artistes in different cultural fields in different parts of the country including Jharkhand.
- (b) For the batch year 2014-15, 212 Scholars were selected and for the batch year 2015-16, 282 Scholars have been selected. State-wise details are annexed. Each selected artiste is given scholarship of Rs. 5000/- per month for a period of two years.
- (c) Ministry of Culture is administering various Schemes such as Cultural Talent Search Scholarship Scheme (CTSSS), Fellowship Scheme, Cultural Function & Production Grant Scheme (CFPGS) etc. for artists/outstanding persons in different fields of culture. In addition to this Ministry of Culture provides financial assistance to its attached/subordinates offices and autonomous bodies for conducting various activities such as Festivals, Seminars, Exhibitions through various Institutions under them to motivate the artists

ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (b) OF LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NUMBER 65 FOR 17.07.2017

Sl No	State	2014-15	2015-16
1	Andaman & Nicobar	Nil	Nil
2	Andhra Pradesh	05	07
3	Arunachal Pradesh	Nil	00
4	Assam	08	13
5	Bihar	07	11
6	Chandigarh	02	01
7	Chhattisgarh	07	07
8	Goa	Nil	Nil
9	Gujarat	Nil	05
10	Haryana	02	06
11	Himachal Pradesh	Nil	02
12	Jammu and Kashmir	04	05
13	Jharkhand	03	05
14	Karnataka	04	12
15	Kerala	05	11
16	Madhya Pradesh	20	12
17	Maharashtra	11	36
18	Manipur	12	10
19	Meghalaya	Nil	Nil
20	Mizoram	Nil	Nil
21	Nagaland	Nil	Nil
22	New Delhi	20	22
23	Odisha	20	11
24	Puducherry	Nil	01
25	Punjab	02	04
26	Rajasthan	Nil	04
27	Sikkim	Nil	Nil
28	Tamil Nadu	03	05
29	Telangana	02	01
30	Tripura	01	02
31	Uttar Pradesh	37	32
32	Uttarakhand	Nil	01
33	West Bengal	37	56
34	Dadra and Nagar Haveli	Nil	Nil
35	Daman and Diu	Nil	Nil
36	Lakshadweep	Nil	Nil
Total Awardees		212	282