GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF EARTH SCIENCES LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION No. 563 TO BE ANSWERED ON WEDNESDAY, JULY 19, 2017

SEISMIC ZONE

563. SHRI. G.M. SIDDESHWARA: SHRI. CHANDRA PRAKASH JOSHI:

Will the Minister of EARTH SCIENCES be pleased to state:

- (a) the names of cities categorized under seismic zone in the country at present;
- (b) whether houses and building in these cities are not earthquake proof and if so, the details thereof and the reasons therefor;
- (c) the preventive measures taken/being taken by Government in this regard particularly for homes/buildings which are not earthquake proof;
- (d) whether certain norms have been put in place for such areas or whether these have been put in a separate category; and
- (e) if so, the details in this regard?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE FOR MINISTRY OF SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY AND MINISTRY OF EARTH SCIENCES (SHRI Y. S. CHOWDARY)

Earthquake - prone areas of the country have been identified on the (a) basis of scientific inputs relating to seismicity, earthquakes occurred in the past and tectonic setup of the region. Based on these inputs, Bureau of Indian Standards [IS 1893 (Part I):2002], has grouped the country into four seismic zones, viz. Zone II, III, IV and V. Of these, Zone V is seismically the most active region, while zone II is the least. Broadly, Zone - V comprises entire northeastern India, parts of Jammu and Kashmir, Himachal Pradesh, Uttaranchal, Rann of Kutch in Gujarat, part of North Bihar and Andaman & Nicobar Islands. Zone - IV covers remaining parts of Jammu and Kashmir and Himachal Pradesh, National Capital Territory (NCT) of Delhi, Sikkim, Northern Parts of Uttar Pradesh, Bihar and West Bengal, parts of Gujarat and small portions of Maharashtra near the west coast and Rajasthan. Zone – III comprises Kerala, Goa, Lakshadweep islands, remaining parts of Uttar Pradesh, Gujarat and West Bengal, Parts of Punjab, Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Bihar, Jharkhand, Chhattisgarh, Maharashtra, Orissa, Andhra Pradesh, Tamilnadu and Karnataka. Zone - II covers remaining parts of country.

A list of important cities falling in various seismic zones, has also been prepared by BIS and is given as Annexure-I.

- (b) Bureau of Indian Standards (BIS) has published criterion for construction of earthquake resistant structures. Buildings are now being made earthquake resistant.
- (c-e) BIS has prepared guidelines for retrofitting in existing structures. A list of code books on construction practices of buildings and structures, to minimize the earthquake losses, is available. In addition to this, Housing and Urban Development Corporation (HUDCO) & Building Materials & Technology Promotion Council (BMTPC) have also published guidelines and brochures for construction and retrofitting of buildings. These guidelines are in wide circulation amongst the public and the administrative authorities responsible for the design and construction of earthquake resistant structures in earthquake prone areas.

Loss of life and damage of property due to earthquakes could be considerably reduced through proper planning and implementation of pre- and post-disaster preparedness and management strategies by respective State and Central Government agencies in a coordinated manner following the above mentioned guidelines. These studies involving preparation of geological, geomorphologic and land use maps followed by drilling, geological logging, standard penetration test and geophysical studies to demarcate the zones of least to most damage prone areas within the urban areas so as to helps the respective town and country planning agencies to formulate perspective planning within the overall earthquake impact minimization efforts. Based on the above steps it is mandatory for all infrastructure/building/ development agencies (Public and Private) to design appropriate earthquake resistant building plans based on the relevant BIS Codes and other guidelines of BMTPC, HUDCO and NDMA for across the country.

National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA), Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA), Ministry of Earth Sciences and other state Disaster Management Authorities, have also taken up various initiatives to educate and enhance awareness amongst general public and school children on the general aspects of earthquakes, their impacts and measures to mitigate losses caused by them. A National Disaster Response Force (NDRF) is also functional under the general superintendence, direction and control of the NDMA for the purpose of specialized response to natural and man-made disasters.

Annexure-I

List of important towns falling in seismic zone III, IV and V

_		1_	T_		Τ_
Town	State/UT	Zone	Town	State/UT	Zone
Agra	Utter Pradesh	III	Chitradurga	Karnataka	II
Ahmedabad	Gujarat	III	Coimbatore	Tamil nadu	Ш
Ajmer	Rajasthan	II	Cuddalore	Tamil Nadu	Ш
Allahabad	Utter Pradesh	II	Cuttack	Orissa	Ш
Almora	Uttrakhand	IV	Darbhanga	Bihar	V
Ambala	Haryana	IV	Darjeeling	West Bengal	IV
Amritsar	Punjab	IV	Dharwad	Karnataka	Ш
Asansol	West Bengal	Ш	Dehradun	Uttrakhand	IV
Aurangabad	Maharastha	II	Dharmpuri	Tamil Nadu	Ш
Baharich	Utter Pradesh	IV	Delhi	Delhi	IV
Bangalore	Karnataka	II	Durgapur	West Bengal	Ш
Barauni	Bihar	IV	Gangtok	Sikkim	IV
Bareilly	Utter Pradesh	III	Guwahati	Assam	V
Belgaum	Karnataka	111	Goa	Goa	Ш
Bhatinda	Punjab	111	Gulbarga	Karnataka	II
Bhilai	Chattiagarh	II	Gaya	Bihar	Ш
Bhopal	Madhya	II	Gorakhpur	Utter Pradesh	IV
	Pradesh				
Bhubaneswar	Orissa	III	Hyderabad	Andhra	II
				Pradesh	
Bhuj	Gujarat	V	Imphal	Manipur	V
Bijapur	Karnataka	Ш	Jabalpur	Madhya	Ш
				Pradesh	
Bikaner	Rajasthan	Ш	Jaipur	Rajasthan	Ш
Bokaro	Jharkhand	111	Jamshedpur	Jharkhand	II
Bulandshahr	Utter Pradesh	IV	Jhansi	Utter Pradesh	Ш
Burdwan	West Bengal	111	Jodhpur	Rajasthan	II
Cailcut	Kerala	111	Jorhat	Assam	V
Chandigarh	Chandigarh	IV	Kakrapara	Gujarat	Ш
Chennai	Tamil Nadu	III	Kalapakkam	Tamil Nadu	Ш
Kanchipuram	Tamil Nadu	III	Pondicherry	Pondicherry	Ш
L	I.	1	1	1	1

Kanpur	Utter Pradesh	III	Pune	Maharastha	III
Karwar	Karnataka	Ш	Raipur	Chattisgarh	II
Kohima	Nagaland	V	Rajkot	Gujarat	III
Kolkata	West Bengal	Ш	Ranchi	Chattisgarh	II
Kota	Rajasthan	Ш	Roorkee	Uttrakhand	IV
Kurnool	Andhra	II	Rourkela	Orissa	II
	Pradesh			_	
Lucknow	Utter Pradesh	111	Sadiya	Assam	V
Ludhiyana	Punjab	IV	Salem	Tamil Nadu	III
Madurai	Tamil Nadu	II	Simla	Himanchal Pradesh	IV
Mandi	Himanchal	V	Sironj	Madhya	II
	Pradesh			Pradesh	
Mangalore	Karnataka	III	Solapur	Maharastha	III
Monghyr	Bihar	IV	Srinagar	Jammu & Kashmir	V
Moradabad	Utter Pradesh	IV	Surat	Gujarat	III
Mumbai	Maharastha	III	Tarapur	Maharastha	III
Mysore	Karnataka	II	Tezpur	Assam	V
Nagpur	Maharastha	II	Thane	Maharastha	III
Nagarjunasag	Andhra	Ш	Thanjavur	Tamil Nadu	II
ar	Pradesh		_		
Nainital	Uttrakhand	IV	Thiruvananth apuram	Kerala	Ш
Nasik	Maharastha	III	Tiruchirappal	Tamil Nadu	II
Nellore	Andhra Pradesh	Ш	Tiruvennamal ai	Tamil Nadu	Ш
Osmanabad	Maharastha	III	Udaipur	Rajasthan	II
Panjim	Goa	Ш	Vadodara	Gujarat	Ш
Patiala	Punjab	Ш	Varanasi	Utter Pradesh	Ш
Patna	Bihar	IV	Vellore	Andhra Pradesh	Ш
Pilibhit	Uttrakhand	IV	Vijayawada	Andhra Pradesh	III
			Vishakhapatn am	Andhra Pradesh	11
	1	1		_ ·	1