GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF POWER

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.3973 TO BE ANSWERED ON 10.08.2017

OPERATIONAL POWER PLANTS

3973. SHRI INNOCENT:

Will the Minister of POWER be pleased to state:

- (a) the number of power plants set up and operated by Government and out of these the number of coal and gas based power plants separately; and
- (b) the number of such plants operational and non-operational, separately, as on date?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) FOR POWER, COAL, NEW & RENEWABLE ENERGY AND MINES

(SHRI PIYUSH GOYAL)

- (a): The total number of power plants set up and operated by Government is 325 as on 31.07.2017, out of which 106 are coal based power plants and 38 are gas based power plants.
- (b): Total 10 (ten) number of stations including 2 (two) in Central Sector did not achieve any generation during 2016-17 due to various reasons such as non-availability of fuel/costly alternative fuel, planned and forced outage and non-receipt of generation schedule from beneficiaries etc.
