### GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF MINORITY AFFAIRS LOK SABHA

#### UNSTARRED QUESTION No. 3850 TO BE ANSWERED ON 09.08.2017

**Basic Amenities to Minorities** 

## 3850. DR. SATYAPAL SINGH: SHRI SANJAY DHOTRE: SHRI RAHUL SHEWALE:

Will the Minister of MINORITY AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of the financial assistance provided by the Government for development of basic amenities in minority dominated areas of the country during each of the last three years and the current year, State/UT-wise;
- (b) the norms/criterion to declare a city/town as minority dominated in the country;
- (c) whether some of the cities/towns have not been declared minority dominated despite being eligible under the said norms/ criterion in the country;
- (d) if so, the details thereof, State/UT-wise and the reasons therefor;
- (e) the existing mechanism to monitor the development of minority dominated areas in the country; and
- (f) the other steps taken/being taken by the Government to ensure overall development of minority dominated areas across the country?

#### **ANSWER**

# MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) IN THE MINISTRY OF MINORITY AFFAIRS (SHRI MUKHTAR ABBAS NAQVI)

- (a) The details of the funds released under Multi-sectoral Development Programme during each of the last three years and the current year, State/UT-wise is annexed.
- (b) to (d) Under the Multi-sectoral Development Programme(MsDP), Towns/cities with a minimum of 25% minority population (in case of 6 States/UTs namely Lakshawdeep, Punjab, Nagaland, Meghalaya, Mizoram and Jammu & Kashmir, 15% of minority population, other than that of the minority community in majority in that State/UT) having both socio-economic and basic amenities parameters below national average, have been identified as Minority Concentration Towns/Cities for the implementation of the programme during the 12<sup>th</sup> Plan Period. The data used for identification of the area was of Census, 2001. Only blocks and towns which meet the criteria are identified as minority concentration areas. List of such area is in the website of the Ministry at http://www.minorityaffairs.gov.in/sites/default/files/guideline.pdf.
- (e) Under the extant guidelines of the programme, there is a provision for robust monitoring mechanism. Under this mechanism, the Block Level Committee (BLC) for MsDP monitors the implementation of MsDP at the block level. The District Level Committees and State Level Committees, constituted for implementation of the Prime Minister's New 15 Point Programme, are the Oversight Committees at the District and State levels respectively to monitor the progress of implementation of MsDP. The Empowered Committee at the Centre also serves as the Oversight Committee to monitor the progress of implementation of MsDP.

(f) To ensure the overall development of Minority dominated area across the country, the Ministry has initiated a process for restructuring of the programme for the implementation in remaining period of 14<sup>th</sup> Finance Commission including revision in the list of Minority Concentration Areas based on the 2011 Census data.

\*\*\*\*

Annexure referred in reply to part (a) of Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No.3850 for 09.08.2017 regarding Basic Amenities to Minorities asked by Dr. Satyapal Singh, Shri Sanjay Dhotre and Shri Rahul Shewale, Members of Parliament.

Sl.		<b>During 2014-15</b>	<b>During 2015-16</b>	<b>During 2016-17</b>	2017-18
No.	State	Fund Released	Fund Released	Total Released	<b>Total Released</b>
					Rs. in lakh
1	Uttar Pradesh	13204.81	32468.00	14364.00	542.39
2	West Bengal	37590.75	20768.00	17876.28	0
3	Assam	1111.98	19862.27	22076.64	1237.24
4	Bihar	9808.29	4499.36	13662.89	0
5	Manipur	405.44	3815.20	4753.46	100
6	Haryana		1210.65	1684.51	0
7	Jharkhand	598.63	962.90	4940.56	0
8	Uttrakhand	2293.18	2521.12	1661.21	0
9	Maharashtra	329.86	3268.20	130.62	0
10	Karnataka	1635.04	3769.27	3846.43	0
11	Andaman & Nicobar Island	22.22	41.34	0.00	0
12	Odisha	198.75	1405.00	0.00	0
13	Meghalaya	534.69	676.15	331.78	0
14	Kerala	213.84	2021.55	0.00	0
15	Mizoram		422.19	70.19	0
16	Jammu & Kashmir		480.00	447.83	0
17	Delhi	120.45	113.81	0.00	0
18	Madhya Pradesh		446.84	212.79	418.56
19	Sikkim	618.60	498.54	0.00	239.12
20	Arunachal Pradesh	329.47	4330.14	5193.99	105.178
21	Andhra Pradesh	1748.72		4768.22	0
22	Telangana	271.79	1079.36	3780.00	0
23	Tripura	3124.13	3685.27	3322.59	355.157
24	Punjab		1050.00	0.00	0
25	Rajasthan	2625.95	2639.36	3922.92	49.83
26	Gujarat			0.00	0
27	Chattisgarh			1025.06	0
	Total	76786.57	112034.51	108071.97	3047.475