GOVERNMENT OF INDIA

MINISTRY OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS, FOOD & PUBLIC DISTRIBUTION DEPARTMENT OF FOOD AND PUBLIC DISTRIBUTION

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 3608 TO BE ANSWERED ON 08th AUGUST, 2017

AAY CARD HOLDERS

3608. SHRI JANAK RAM: SHRI VISHNU DAYAL RAM:

Will the Minister of CONSUMER AFFAIRS, FOOD AND PUBLIC DISTRIBUTION उपभोक्ता मामले. खाद्य और सार्वजनिक वितरण मंत्री be pleased to state:

- (a) whether any Antyodaya Anna Yojana (AAY) card holders have been brought with-in the ambit of Food Security Law;
- (b) if so, the reasons therefor;
- (c) if not, the various categories brought under the Food Security Law at present; and
- (d) the number and details of APL, BPL and AAY card holders in the country at present, State/UT-wise?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE FOR CONSUMER AFFAIRS, FOOD & PUBLIC DISTRIBUTION (SHRI C. R. CHAUDHARY)

(a) to (d): The National Food Security Act, 2013 (NFSA) provides for coverage of upto 75% of rural and 50% of urban population for receiving highly subsidized foodgrains. Coverage under the Act is under two categories- households covered under Antyodaya Anna Yojana (AAY) to the extent specified by the Central Government and the remaining households as priority households. There are no APL and BPL categories under NFSA.

Households covered under AAY are entitled to receive 35 kg of foodgrains per household per month at Rs. 1/2/3 per kg for coarsegrains/ wheat/ rice respectively, under the Act. The priority households are entitled to receive 5 kg of foodgrains per person per month at the above prices. State/UT-wise details of coverage under NFSA is at Annexure.

ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) to (d) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION NUMBER 3608 DUE FOR ANSWER ON 08.08.2017 IN LOK SABHA.

State-wise number of beneficiaries covered under National Food Security Act, 2013

	Name of the States/UTs	Number of beneficiaries covered under NFSA			
S.No.		AAY		Priority	Total
		No. of	No. of	No. of	persons
		families	persons	persons	
1	Andhra Pradesh	9.08	23.51	244.70	268.21
2	Arunachal Pradesh	0.37	1.47	6.74	8.21
3	Assam	7.00	29.69	221.94	251.63
4	Bihar	25.01	116.55	740.57	857.12
5	Chattisgarh	7.19	20.42	180.35	200.77
6	Delhi	0.76	2.90	69.83	72.73
7	Goa	0.13	0.50	4.82	5.32
8	Gujarat	8.12	42.77	339.77	382.54
9	Haryana	2.68	11.35	115.14	126.49
10	Himachal Pradesh	1.82	7.67	20.98	28.64
11	J & K	2.36	11.04	63.09	74.13
12	Jharkhand	9.17	37.98	225.72	263.70
13	Karnataka	10.97	43.91	358.02	401.93
14	Kerala	5.95799	25.59	129.21	154.80
15	Madhya Pradesh	14.32	51.17	478.44	529.61
16	Maharashtra	25.05	108.01	592.16	700.17
17	Manipur	0.64	1.97	19.61	21.58
18	Meghalaya	0.15	0.85	20.55	21.40
19	Mizoram	0.26	0.82	5.86	6.68
20	Nagaland	0.48	2.11	11.94	14.05
21	Odisha	10.48	37.58	285.64	323.22
22	Punjab	1.79	7.71	133.74	141.45
23	Rajasthan	9.32	37	409.62	446.62
24	Sikkim	0.16	0.54	3.24	3.78
25	Tamil Nadu	17.17	73.27	284.07	357.34
26	Telangana	5.67	15.29	176.33	191.62
27	Tripura	1.10	4.98	19.85	24.83
28	Uttar Pradesh	40.95	162.85	1336.98	1499.83
29	Uttarakhand	1.84	7.92	54.02	61.94
30	West Bengal	15.86	51.82	550.02	601.84
31	A&N	0.04	0.17	0.38	0.55
32	Daman & Diu	0.01	0.05	0.83	0.88
33	Dadra & Nagar	0.04	0.23	1.92	2.16
34	Lakshadweep	0.01	0.04	0.18	0.22
35	Chandigarh	0.00	0.01	2.73	2.74
36	Puduchery	0.25	0.83	5.00	5.83
	Total	236.18	940.53	7114.00	8054.54