GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF ENVIRONMENT, FOREST AND CLIMATE CHANGE

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 3470 TO BE ANSWERED ON 08.08.2017

Non-Forest Areas

3470. DR. MANOJ RAJORIA:

Will the Minister of ENVIRONMENT, FOREST AND CLIMATE CHANGE be pleased to state:

- (a) the extent of non-forest areas in the country;
- (b) the areas under mining in India both in forest and non-forest areas;
- (c) whether the non-forest area is devoid of any type of bio-diversity; and
- (d) if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

MINISTER FOR ENVIRONMENT, FOREST AND CLIMATE CHANGE

(DR. HARSH VARDHAN)

- (a) Forest Survey of India, Dehradun, a subordinate organization under Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change carries out the assessment of forest cover of the country biennially and the findings are published in India State of Forest Report. As per the latest report i.e. India State of Forest Report (ISFR) 2015, the non-forest area in the country is 25, 44,228 square kilometers.
- (b) The area of forest land diverted for mining under Forest (Conservation) Act, 1980 from 25.10.1980 to 04.08.2017 is 135873.86 hectares. The States/UTs wise details are annexed. According to Indian Bureau of Mines (IBM) report on "Indian Mineral Industry at a glance" for the year 2014-15, total area of 3, 40,000 hectare, covered under 3868 mining leases in the country, as on 31.03.2015, excluding fuel, atomic and minor minerals.
- (c & d)Non-forest areas of the country may also be rich in biodiversity, which includes innumerable taxa in various ecosystems such as sacred grooves, wetlands, coastal & marine ecosystems, agricultural landscapes and community reserves.

Annexure

Annexure referred to in reply to part (b) of the Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No. 3470 due for answer on 08.08.2017 regarding 'Non-Forest Areas'.

Total Forest Area diverted for Mining under Forest (Conservation) Act, 1980 during the period 25.10.1980 to 04.08.2017.

S. No.	States / UTs	No. of Cases	Total Land Diverted (Hectares)
1	Andaman and Nicobar	9	22.72
2	Andhra Pradesh	131	4756.58
3	Arunachal Pradesh	13	99.28
4	Assam	82	164.58
5	Bihar	10	421.90
6	Chandigarh	0	0.00
7	Chhattisgarh	124	22482.57
8	Dadar & Nagar Haveli	0	0.00
9	Daman and Diu	0	0.00
10	Delhi	0	0.00
11	Goa	44	1794.55
12	Gujarat	53	9792.28
13	Haryana	1	0.15
14	Himachal Pradesh	57	1181.18
15	Jammu and Kashmir	0	0.00
16	Jharkhand	117	14815.99
17	Karnataka	150	11617.84
18	Kerala	1	29.20
19	Lakshadweep	0	0.00
20	Madhya Pradesh	180	15974.32
21	Maharashtra	113	3337.05
22	Manipur	0	0.00
23	Meghalaya	3	259.52
24	Mizoram	0	0.00
25	Nagaland	0	0.00
26	Orissa	189	23828.40
27	Pondicherry	0	0.00
28	Punjab	1	0.00
29	Rajasthan	159	5722.89
30	Sikkim	2	0.66
31	Tamil Nadu	30	462.25
32	Telangana	76	16311.36
33	Tripura	14	24.40
34	Uttar Pradesh	5	2006.44
35	Uttarakhand	17	285.01
36	West Bengal	10	482.75
Total		1591	135873.86