GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 3349 TO BE ANSWERED ON 4TH AUGUST, 2017

MEDICAL COLLEGES IN ODISHA

3349. SHRI NAGENDRA KUMAR PRADHAN: SHRI BALABHADRA MAJHI:

Will the Minister of **HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE** be pleased to state:

- (a) the criteria to set up new medical colleges in the States under Central Sponsored Scheme by upgrading district/ referral hospitals;
- (b) whether there is any difficulty faced by Odisha Government to open medical colleges in the States and if so, the details thereof and the steps taken by the Union Government in this regard;
- (c) the number of medical colleges sanctioned for Odisha on cost sharing basis along with estimated project cost of the colleges;
- (d) the details of Centre's share along with amount released by the Government; and
- (e) the time by which the said work is likely to be completed?

ANSWER THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE (SHRI FAGGAN SINGH KULASTE)

- (a): This Ministry administers a Centrally Sponsored Scheme for Establishment of new Medical Colleges attached with existing district/referral hospitals. 58 districts in 20 States/UT have been identified under this Scheme. The following criteria was adopted for identification of Districts under the Scheme:
 - I. District Hospitals/referral hospital with bed strength of 200 or more.
 - II. District/Referral hospitals of the districts where there is no medical college.
- III. Preference to underserved areas.
- (b) to (e): Under this Scheme, five districts in Odisha namely, Balasore, Bolangir, Koraput, Baripada (Mayurbhanj) and Puri have been approved to establish new medical colleges. The total approved cost of establishment of one Medical College under the scheme is Rs.189 crore with fund sharing between the Central Government and the State Government in the ratio of 60:40. Funds to the tune of Rs.526.00 crore have been released as central share to the State Government of Odisha for the approved districts under the Scheme. Medical Colleges at Baripada (Mayurbhanj) and Koraput have become functional from the current academic year 2017-18.