GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF SHIPPING

LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.3063 TO BE ANSWERED ON 3rd AUGUST, 2017

DEVELOPMENT OF SEA PORTS

3063. SHRI Y.S. AVINASH REDDY:

Will the Minister of SHIPPING be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government proposes to develop viable sea ports in the country;
- (b) if so, the details thereof along with the ports identified for the purpose in the country including Andhra Pradesh;
- (c) whether the Ramayapatnam port has been included in the list of identified ports for development and if so, the details thereof;
- (d) whether any request from the Government of Andhra Pradesh has been received in this regard; and
- (e) if so, the reaction of the Government thereto?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF SHIPPING (SHRI PON. RADHAKRISHNAN)

- (a)&(b):Yes, Madam. Six new port locations have been identified as part of the Sagarmala Programme, namely – Vadhavan (Maharashtra), Enayam (Tamil Nadu), Sagar Island (West Bengal), Paradip Outer Harbour (Odisha), Sirkazhi (Tamil Nadu) and Belekeri (Karnataka). In-principle approval has been obtained for setting up a major port at Sagar Island and Enayam.Development of Port at Dugarajapatnam in Andhra Pradesh is listed under Schedule XIII of the Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Act, 2014.
- (c)to(e):In 2012, Ramayapatnam along with two other sites were evaluated by a Technical Committee constituted by Ministry of Shipping for development of a Major Port–Cum- Shipbuilding Centre in Andhra Pradesh in 2012. Subsequently, Government of Andhra Pradesh, based on the report of the Technical Committee, recommended setting up of a new Major Port-cum-Ship building Yard at Ramayapatnam. However, the Cabinet Committee on Economic Affairs approved the commissioning of Techno-Economic Feasibility Report for establishing a new Major Port at Dugarajapatnam in Andhra Pradesh. NITI Aayog has been tasked to evolve a most suitable option for establishing a new Major Port at Dugarajapatnam in consultation with Ministry of Shipping, Ministry of Finance and State Government of Andhra Pradesh.
