GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF COAL LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.2031 TO BE ANSWERED ON 27.07.2017

ALLOCATION OF COAL BLOCKS

2031 SHRI B.S. YEDIYURAPPA:

Will the Minister of COAL be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Union Government has received any proposal from the Government of Karnataka for allocation of coal blocks to generate electricity; and
- (b) if so, the details thereof and the action taken by the Union Government thereon?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) FOR POWER, COAL, NEW & RENEWABLE ENERGY AND MINES (SHRI PIYUSH GOYAL)

(a) to (b) Government of Karnataka has requested Ministry of Coal to allocate Ghogarpalli and Dipside of Ghogarpalli coal blocks in the State of Odisha under the Mines and Minerals (Development and Regulation) Act, 1957 to meet the coal requirement of M/s. Karnataka Power Corporation Ltd.'s (KPCL) total 4600 MW capacity thermal power plants viz. Bellary (1x700 MW), Yeramarus (2x800MW), Edlapur (1x700 MW) and Godhna (2x800 MW).

The application of M/s. Karnataka Power Corporation Ltd., alongwith applications received from other State Government entities, was forwarded to Ministry of Power and Central Mine Planning and Design Institute Ltd. for comments. The comments received were placed before the Technical Committeefor evaluation and making recommendation to Inter-Ministerial Committee (IMC). The IMC has submitted its recommendations to the Government, which are under consideration.

Further, requests have been received from Government of Karnataka for allocation of coal mines/blocks for their power projects under the provisions of the Coal Mines (Special Provisions) Act, 2015 also. As the allocation of coal mines/blocks is an ongoing process, the State Government was requested to advise M/s. Karnataka Power Corporation Ltd. to apply as and when applications are invited by the Nominated Authority through a Notice Inviting Application for allocation of coal mines.

6 coal mines viz. Baranj-I, II, III &IV, Kiloni and Manoradeep, have been allocated to Karnataka Power Corporation Ltd. under the provisions of the Coal Mines (Special Provisions) Act, 2015, for specified end use of power.
