GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HOUSING & URBAN AFFAIRS LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.1702 TO BE ANSWERED ON JULY 26, 2017 PARAMETERS FOR AMRUT

No.1702 SHRI SUNIL KUMAR SINGH:

Will the Minister of Housing and Urban Affairs be pleased to state:

- a) the details of the parameters determined by the Government for the inclusion of cities under the Atal Mission for Rejuvenation and Urban Transformation(AMRUT);
- b) whether the Government has set up different monitoring committees at national, regional and district level to monitor the progress of this scheme;
- c) if so, the locations at which the meetings were held of these committees for the development of the identified area in the country and the type of assistance received from this meeting to ensure the development activites; and
- d) the composition of the district level committee and the details of the members of this committee?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HOUSING & URBAN AFFAIRS (RAO INDERJEET SINGH)

- a) The following categories of cities are eligible for inclusion under the Atal Mission for Rejuvenation and Urban Transformation (AMRUT):
 - i. All Cities and Towns with a population of over one lakh with notified Municipalities, including Cantonment Boards (Civilian areas),
 - ii. All Capital Cities/Towns of States/ UTs, not covered in (i),

- iii. All Cities/ Towns classified as Heritage Cities by MoHUA under the HRIDAY Scheme,
- iv. Thirteen Cities and Towns on the stem of the main rivers with a population above 75,000 and less than 1 lakh, and
- v. Ten Cities from hill states, islands and tourist destinations (not more than one from each State
- b) The Mission Guidelines provide for constitution of an Apex Committee at the National level, a State Level High Powered Steering Committee (SHPSC) at the State / UT level. There are two committees that are responsible for the monitoring of the mission at the district level.

The Ministry of Housing & Urban Affairs has constituted a District Level Advisory and Monitoring Committee (DLAMC) at the district level to monitor the progress of schemes connected to the Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs.

In addition to this, the Ministry of Rural Development has formed a District Development Coordination and Monitoring Committee (DISHA) in all the districts to ensure better coordination and monitoring of several schemes being implemented in the districts by various ministries.

- c) So far, 17 meetings of the Apex Committee have been held, all at Delhi, wherein the State Annual Action Plans of the States and the UTs were considered and approved apart from other relevant policy and operational decisions connected to the implementation of the Mission.
 - The meetings of the SHPSC, DLAMC are held at the state /UT level and the district level, respectively. The SHPSC examines the SAAPs and recommends for approval, and monitors and supervises the implementation of the Mission at the state level. The DLAMC monitors the Mission at district level and co-ordinates among the agencies for smooth implementation.
- d) The DLAMC comprises of the senior most elected public representative in the district as the Chairman and all other elected members of the Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha (who choose to be member) as co-chairman /members. It also has ex-official members comprising of the members of the State legislative assembly, Mayors of Urban Local Bodies in the district and specified officials. It also has persons from amongst the

indicated list as nominated members. The District Collector/ District Magistrate/ Deputy Commissioner is the member secretary.

The DISHA committee, constituted by the Ministry of Rural Development, comprises of all Lok Sabha members from the district and one Rajya Sabha member from the State (who opts to be member), all members of State legislative level assembly from the district, all Mayors of the municipalities, 5 elected heads of gram panchayats including 2 women, chairperson of zilla panchayat, heads of autonomous district councils in district having schedule VI areas, chairpersons of intermediate panchayats the district and certain other officials as specified, and one member from reputed NGO. The one member of Parliament is the chairperson of the committee and next another member parliament is the co-chairperson.
