### GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF TOURISM

# LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.166 ANSWERED ON 17.07.2017

#### **EXTENSION OF E-VISA FACILITY**

#### 166. SHRI C. MAHENDRAN:

Will the Minister of TOURISM be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government has extended the facility of e-Tourist Visa Scheme for citizens of 161 Countries recently;
- (b) if so, the details thereof;
- (c) whether the scheme aims to tap the vast tourism potential of India;
- (d) if so, the details thereof; and
- (e) the criteria followed for issuing of such e-visa?

#### **ANSWER**

## MINISTER OF STATE FOR TOURISM (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) (DR. MAHESH SHARMA)

- (a): At present, the e-Tourist Visa Scheme is available for the citizens of 162 countries as informed by Ministry of Home Affairs vide their Circular No.488 dated 24.05.2017.
- (b): The list of 162 countries is given at Annexure-I.
- (c) to (e): Yes, Madam. The number of foreign tourists arrival (FTAs) in India has shown continuous increase in last three years. The number of FTAs in India during 2014, 2015 and 2016 are as under:

2014	7.68 million
2015	8.03 million
2016	8.80 million

This high growth may be attributed to introduction of e-Tourist Visa.

During the last two years 2015 and 2016, the foreign tourists visiting India under e-Tourist Visa Scheme have registered a growth of 142.5%.

As per information received from Ministry of Home Affairs, the criteria followed for issuing e-Visa are given at the Annexure-II.

\*\*\*\*\*

# STATEMENT IN REPLY TO PART (b) OF LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.166 ANSWERED ON 17.07.2017 REGARDING EXTENSION OF E-VISA FACILITY.

List of countries whose nationals are eligible for e- Visa facility.

l.No.	
1.	Andorra
2.	Angola
3.	Anguilla
4.	Antigua & Barbuda
5.	Albania
6.	Austria
7.	Argentina
8.	Armenia
9.	Aruba
10.	Australia
11.	Azerbaijan
12.	Bahamas
13.	Barbados
14.	Belgium
15.	Belize
16.	Bolivia
17.	Bosnia & Herzegovina
18.	Botswana
19.	Brazil
20.	Brunei
21.	Bulgaria
22.	Burundi
23.	Cambodia
24.	Cameron Union Republic
25.	Canada
26.	Cape Verde
27.	Cayman Island
28.	Chile
29.	China
30.	China- SAR Hongkong
31.	China- SAR Macau
32.	Colombia
33.	Comoros
34.	Cook Islands
35.	Costa Rica
36.	Cote d'Ivoire

37.	Croatia
38.	Cuba
39.	Cyprus
40.	Czech Republic
41.	Denmark
42.	Djibouti
43.	Dominica
44.	Dominican Republic
45.	East Timor
46.	Ecuador
47.	El Salvador
48.	Estonia
49.	Eritrea
50.	Fiji
51.	Finland
<b>52.</b>	France
53.	Gabon
54.	Gambia
55.	Georgia
56.	Germany
57.	Ghana
58.	Greece
59.	Grenada
60.	Guatemala
61.	Guinea
62.	Guyana
63.	Haiti
64.	Honduras
65.	Hungary
66.	Iceland
67.	Indonesia
68.	Ireland
69.	Israel
70.	Italy
71.	Jamaica
72.	Japan
73.	Jordan
74.	Kenya
75.	Kiribati
76.	Laos
77.	Latvia
78.	Lesotho
79.	Liberia

80.	Liechtenstein
81.	Lithuania
82.	Luxembourg
83.	Macedonia
84.	Madagascar
85.	Malaysia
86.	Malawi
87.	Mali
88.	Malta
89.	Marshall Islands
90.	Mauritius
91.	Mexico
92.	Micronesia
93.	Moldova
94.	Monaco
95.	Mongolia
96.	Montenegro
97.	Montserrat
98.	Mozambique
99.	Myanmar
100.	Namibia
101.	Nauru
102.	Netherlands
103.	New Zealand
104.	Nicaragua
105.	Niger Republic
106.	Niue Island
107.	Norway
108.	Oman
109.	Palau
110.	Palestine
111.	Panama
112.	Papua New Guinea
113.	Paraguay
114.	Peru
115.	Philippines
116.	Poland
117.	Portugal
118.	Republic of Korea
119.	Romania
120.	Russia
121.	Rwanda
122.	Saint Christopher and Nevis
-	

123.	Saint Lucia
124.	Saint Vincent & the Grenadines
125.	San Marino
126.	Samoa
127.	Senegal
128.	Serbia
129.	Seychelles
130.	Sierra Leone
131.	Singapore
132.	Slovenia
133.	Slovakia
134.	Solomon Islands
135.	South Africa
136.	Spain
137.	Sri Lanka
138.	Suriname
139.	Swaziland
140.	Switzerland
141.	Sweden
142.	Taiwan
143.	Tanzania
144.	Tajikistan
145.	Thailand
146.	Tonga
147.	Trinidad & Tobago
148.	Turks & Caicos Island
149.	Tuvalu
150.	UAE
151.	Ukraine
152.	United Kingdom(UK)
153.	United States of America (USA)
154.	Uruguay
155.	Uzbekistan
156.	Vanuatu
157.	Vatican City-Holy See
158.	Venezuela
159.	Vietnam
160	Zambia
161.	Zimbabwe
162.	Uganda

\*\*\*\*\*

# STATEMENT IN REPLY TO PARTS (c) TO (e) OF LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.166 ANSWERED ON 17.07.2017 REGARDING EXTENSION OF E-VISA FACILITY

- (1) The nomenclature of the existing 'e-Tourist Visa' has been changed to 'e-Visa' with three sub-categories i.e. 'e-Tourist Visa', 'e-Business Visa' and 'e-Medical Visa'.
- (2) Following activities are permitted under e-Tourist Visa, e-Business Visa and e-Medical Visa:-
  - (a) e-Tourist Visa: Recreation, sightseeing, casual visit to meet friends or relatives, and attending a short term yoga programme.
  - (b) e-Business Visa: All activities permitted under normal Business Visa as per the Visa Manual
  - (c) e-Medical Visa: Medical treatment, including treatment under Indian systems of medicine.
- (3) The window for application under e-Visa stands increased from the existing 30 days to 120 days.
- (4) Duration of stay in India under e-Visa has been increased from the existing 30 days to 60 days.
- (5) On e-Tourist Visa and e-Business Visa, a foreign national are e permitted double entry. In the case of those availing e-Medical Visa, triple entry are permitted.
- (6) Restriction of one application per email ID per month has been removed.

\*\*\*\*\*