# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF ENVIRONMENT, FOREST AND CLIMATE CHANGE

# LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1593 TO BE ANSWERED ON 25.07.2017

### **Cattle Trade Rule**

# 1593. SHRI VINCENT H. PALA:

Will the Minister of ENVIRONMENT, FOREST AND CLIMATE CHANGE be pleased to state:

- (a) the number and details of representations received from the Public representatives against the newly enforced Cattle Trade Rules; and
- (b) the details of the action taken/ being taken in this regard?

### **ANSWER**

# MINISTER FOR ENVIRONMENT, FOREST AND CLIMATE CHANGE (DR. HARSH VARDHAN)

- (a) Nine (9) representations have been received from the Public representatives against the newly enforced Cattle Trade Rules. List of the representations received are at Annexure-1.
- (b) The Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (Regulation of Livestock Markets) Rules, 2017 was notified in the Gazette of India on 23.05.2017. The notification was stayed by Madurai Bench of Madras High Court vide order dated 30.05.2017. The Hon'ble Supreme Court vide order dated 11.07.2017 has also observed that the stay granted by the Madurai Bench of Madras High Court vide order dated 30.05.2017 in Writ Petition (MD) No. 7769 & 7771 and 10128 & 10129 to the operation of rules shall apply to the whole country. Thus, the operation of the notification dated 23.05.2017 has been stayed by Hon'ble Supreme Court of India and the matter is sub-judice.

\*\*\*\*\*

Statement referred to in reply to part (a) of Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No. 1593 for answer on 25.07.2017 asked by Shri Vincent H. Pala, Member of Parliament, Lok Sabha.

References received from various Public representatives

Sl. No.	Name of the Public representative
1.	Shri Pinarayi Vijayan, Hon'ble Chief Minister, Govt. of Kerala
2.	Shri Banwarilal Purohit, Hon'ble Governor, Meghalaya
3.	Shri V. Narayanasamy, Hon'ble Chief Minster, Govt. of Puducherry
4.	Shri Siddaramaiah, Hon'ble Chief Minister, Govt. of Karnataka
5.	Shri N.K. Premachandran, Hon'ble Member of Parliament, Lok Sabha
6.	Shri Ramesh Chennithala, Hon'ble Leader of Opposition, Kerala Legislative Assembly
7.	Shri Vincent H. Pala, Hon'ble Member of Parliament, Lok Sabha
8.	Justice (Retd.) P. Sathasivam, Hon'ble Governor, Kerala
9.	Shri C.K. Sangma, Hon'ble Member of Parliament, Lok Sabha