GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1535

TO BE ANSWERED ON THE 25TH JULY, 2017/SHRAVANA 3, 1939 (SAKA)

VIOLATION OF OFFICIAL SECRETS ACT

1535. SHRI BHARTRUHARI MAHTAB:

Will the Minister of HOME AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

- (a) the number of cases of violation of Official Secrets Act that have come to the notice of the Government along with the reaction of the Government thereto during each of the last three years and the current year, State/UT-wise;
- (b) whether the Government has set up a Committee to examine the provisions of the Official Secrets Act, 1923;
- (c) if so, the details thereof along with the composition of the Committee;
- (d) whether the Committee has submitted its report;
- (e) if so, the details thereof along with the main recommendations of the Committee and if not, the reasons therefor along with the time by which the Committee is likely to submit its report; and
- (f) the other steps taken/being taken by the Government to curb violation of the said Act?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS (SHRI HANSRAJ GANGARAM AHIR)

(a): As per the data received from the National Crime Record Bureau, the details of cases registered for violation of the Official Secrets Act during the last three years is enclosed in Annexure.

LS.US.Q.No. 1535 FOR 25.07.2017

(b) to (f): A Committee consisting of Secretaries of the Ministry of Home Affairs, the Department of Personnel and Training and the Department of Legal Affairs was setup to examine the provisions of the Official Secrets Act, 1923 (OSA). The said Committee has submitted a report to the Cabinet Secretariat on 16.06.2017.

Annexure to the LS USQ No.1535 dated 25.07.2017

	State/UT	2014	2015	2016*
1	Andhra Pradesh	0	0	0
2	Arunachal Pradesh	0	0	0
3	Assam	0	0	1
4	Bihar	0	0	0
5	Chhattisgarh	0	0	0
6	Goa	0	0	0
7	Gujarat	1	0	1
8	Haryana	0	2	3
9	Himachal Pradesh	0	0	0
10	Jammu & Kashmir	0	0	0
11	Jharkhand	0	0	0
12	Karnataka	0	0	0
13	Kerala	0	0	0
14	Madhya Pradesh	0	0	0
15	Maharashtra	1	0	1
16	Manipur	0	0	0
17	Meghalaya	0	0	0
18	Mizoram	0	0	0
19	Nagaland	0	0	0
20	Odisha	0	0	0
21	Punjab	3	1	5
22	Rajasthan	0	0	3
23	Sikkim	0	0	0
24	Tamil Nadu	5	2	8
25	Telangana	0	0	0
26	Tripura	0	0	0
27	Uttar Pradesh	0	0	5
28	Uttarakhand	0	1	0
29	West Bengal	0	1	1
	TOTAL STATE(S)	10	7	28
30	A & N Islands	0	0	0
31	Chandigarh	0	0	0
32	D&N Haveli	0	0	0
33	Daman & Diu	0	0	0
34	Delhi UT	1	2	2
35	Lakshadweep	0	0	0
36	Puducherry	0	0	0
	TOTAL UT(S)	1	2	2
	TOTAL (ALL INDIA)	11	9	30

Source: NCRB Data.

Note: Data for the year 2017 is under compilation by the NCRB.

^{*} Data of the year 2016 is provisional.