GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT DEPARTMENT OF SCHOOL EDUCATION & LITERACY

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1176 TO BE ANSWERED ON 24TH JULY, 2017

Residential Schools

†1176. SHRI NABA KUMAR SARANIA:

Will the Minister of HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT be pleased to state:

- (a) the total number of residential schools in Assam, region-wise, particularly in Kokrajhar;
- (b) the students' capacity of the residential schools set up in this area; and
- (c) the details of facilities provided by the Government to the students studying there?

ANSWER MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT (SHRI UPENDRA KUSHWAHA)

- (a): Under the Centrally Sponsored Scheme of Sarva Shiksha Abhiyan (SSA), three residential schools have been sanctioned to the State Government of Assam in Cachar, Kamrup and Majuli districts. Further, a total of 67 Kasturba Gandhi Balika Vidyalayas (KGBVs), which are upper primary residential schools for girls, have been sanctioned to the State of Assam. District-wise details of KGBVs sanctioned in Assam including Kokrajhar district are at Annexure.
- (b): The residential schools sanctioned under SSA have capacity of 100 students each, while the 67 KGBVs sanctioned in Assam have a total capacity of 3500 girl students.
- (c): Under the SSA, in addition to educational and lodging/boarding facilities, stipend @ Rs. 100/- per child per month, medical care, specific skill-training and physical/self-defense training is provided to the children living in residential schools. In KGBVs also, maintenance fund, stipend to girl students, supplementary teaching learning material, stationery and other educational material, etc. is provided.

ANNEXURE

ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) OF LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1176, ASKED BY SHRI NABA KUMAR SARANIA TO BE ANSWERED ON 24.07.2017 REGARDING "RESIDENTIAL SCHOOLS"

Statement showing details of KGBVs sanctioned to the State of Assam

SI. No.	District	KGBVs sanctioned
1	Baksa	2
2	Barpeta	5
3	Bongaigaon	1
4	Cachar	1
5	Chirang	1
6	Darrang	4
7	Dhemaji	2
8	Dhubri	9
9	Dibrugarh	2
10	Dima Hasao	2
11	Goalpara	3
12	Hailakandi	1
13	Hojai	1
14	Kamrup Rural	2
15	Karbi Anglong	5
16	Karimganj	1
17	Kokrajhar	3
18	Lakhimpur	1
19	Marigaon	2
20	Nagaon	5
21	Nalbari	1
22	Sibsagar	1
23	Sonitpur	4
24	South Samlara	2
25	Tinsukia	4
26	Udalguri	2
	Total	67