### GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF WOMEN AND CHILD DEVELOPMENT

### LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1059 **TO BE ANSWERED ON 21.07.2017**

# **ADVISORY COMMITTEE**

# 1059. SHRI SHARAD TRIPATHI: DR. RATNA DE (NAG): SHRI HARI OM PANDAY: SHRI SANTOSH KUMAR:

Will the Minister of WOMEN AND CHILD DEVELOPMENT be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Ministry has any Advisory Committee under its ambit;
- (b) if so, the details and composition thereof;
- (c) the benefits/facilities available to its members; and
- (d) the details of the nomination criteria and position filled up/ vacant so far along with the measures taken to fill up the vacant positions?

## ANSWER

# MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF WOMEN AND CHILD DEVELOPMENT (SHRIMATI KRISHNA RAJ)

- (a) & (b): Yes, Madam. Ministry of Women and Child Development has constituted an Advisory Committee for Central Adoption Resource Authority (CARA), a statutory body under its ambit. The said Advisory Committee was constituted on 12<sup>th</sup> April, 2016 in which 9 members were nominated. Further, it has been reconstituted on 23.02.2017. At present, the Advisory Committee has 16 members along with special invitees nominated from the State Governments / UT Administration as **annexed**.
- (c) & (d): No remuneration is being paid to the Members. They would work on honorary basis. The members including Chairperson of the Adoption Advisory Committee are entitled to payment of sitting fee @ Rs. 2500 per day as approved by the Department of Expenditure, Ministry of Finance. The nominees of the State Governments / UT Administration being special invitee to Advisory Committee are not entitled for sitting fee. The non-official members are entitled to economy class air fare. All positions of the Advisory Committee of CARA have been filled up.

\*\*\*\*\*\*

Annexure referred to in reply to part ( b) of Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No. 1059 for 21. 07.2017

#### A. <u>Composition of Advisory Committee of CARA:</u>

1. Shri M. Ramchandra Reddy	Chairman
2. Shri Durgesh Keswani	Member
3. Smt. Sumbla Naqvi	Member
4. Smt. Padma Srinivas	Member
5. Dr. Nilima Mehta	Member
6. Prof. Jydev Mazumdar	Member
7. Ms. Annie Mangsatabam	Member
8. Shri Shivanand M. Dambal	Member
9. Smt. R.K. Pramodhini Devi	Member
10. Shri Manoj Singhal	Member
11. Smt. Sushma Khargwal	Member
12. Ms. Deepa Vijay Bhandari	Member
13. Shri K. Vasa Babu	Member
14. Shri Nitin Bhargava	Member
15. Smt. Satya Sharma	Member
16. Administrative Officer (CARA)	Member Secretary

#### **Nominations from States:**

- 1. Director, Social Welfare cum Vice Chariperson, SCPS ,Bihar
- 2. Programme Manager, SARA, Chandigarh
- 3. Ms. Shally Mittal, Programme Manager, SARA, Punjab
- 4. Smt. Raj Kumari Soni, General Secretary, HPState Council for Child Welfare, Himachal Pradesh
- 5. Ms. Deepa Vijay Bhandari, Goa
- 6. Joint Secretary, Social Welfare and Nutritious Meal Programme Department, Tamil Nadu.

\*\*\*\*\*\*