GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF NEW AND RENEWABLE ENERGY LOK SABHA

STARRED QUESTION NO. 175

TO BE ANSWERED ON 27.07.2017

'DEVELOPMENT OF GREEN /SOLAR CITIES'

*175. SHRI PARBHUBHAI NAGARBHAI VASAVA: PROF. RICHARD HAY:

Will the Minister of NEW AND RENEWABLE ENERGY be pleased to state:

- (a): the State-wise number of green/solar cities developed/proposed to be developed under the 'Development of Solar Cities Programme' in the country including Gujarat;
- (b): the details of the funds sanctioned/allocated/utilised for the said purpose so far, State/UT-wise;
- (c): the targets set and achievements made under the said Programme along with the reasons for not achieving the targets set under the Programme;
- (d): whether the Government is considering to introduce some changes in the said Programme and if so, the details thereof; and
- (e): whether the Government has received any complaint regarding misuse of funds allocated under this Programme, if so, the details thereof and the reasons therefor along with the action taken in this regard, State/UT-wise?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE FOR POWER, COAL, NEW & RENEWABLE ENERGY AND MINES (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) (SHRI PIYUSH GOYAL)

(a) to (e): A Statement is laid on the Table of the House.

Statement referred to in reply to parts (a) to (e) of Lok Sabha Starred Question No. 175 to be answered on 27-07-2017 regarding 'Development of Green /Solar Cities' by Shri Parbhubhai Nagarbhai Vasava and Prof. Richard Hay.

The requisite information in reply to the Question, part-wise, is as under:

- (a). The Ministry of New and Renewable Energy (MNRE) has approved 60 cities under the Development of Solar Cities Programme including three cities namely Rajkot, Gandhinagar and Surat in Gujarat. The State-wise, details of the same are given in **Annexure-I**.
- (b). The State/UT-wise details of funds sanctioned and released so far under Development of Solar Cities Programme are given in **Annexure-II**
- (c). The MNRE has approved 60 cities under the Development of Solar Cities Programme against the target of 60 number of cities/towns fixed for 12th Five-year Plan period.
- (d). No such proposal is under consideration in MNRE.
- (e). The MNRE has not received any complaint regarding misuse of funds allocated under the Programme.

Annexure-I

Annexure-I referred to in the statement laid in the reply to the part (a) of Lok Sabha Starred Question No.175 to be answered on 27-07-2017 regarding 'Development of Green /Solar Cities' by Shri Parbhubhai Nagarbhai Vasava and Prof. Richard Hay.

State-wise numbers of approved solar cities

Sr. No	States/UTs	Numbers of Approved Solar Cities		
1	Andhra Pradesh	03		
2	Assam	02		
3	Arunachal Pradesh	01		
4	Bihar	01		
5	Chandigarh	01		
6	Chhattisgarh	02		
7	Gujarat	03		
8	Goa	01		
9	Haryana	02		
10	Himachal Pradesh	02		
11	Karnataka	02		
12	Kerala	02		
13	Maharashtra	07		
14	Madhya Pradesh	05		
15	Manipur	01		
16	Mizoram	01		
17	Nagaland	02		
18	Delhi	01		
19	Odisha	01		
20	Punjab	03		
21	Rajasthan	03		
22	Tamil Nadu	01		
23	Telangana	01		
24	Tripura	01		
25	Uttarakhand	03		
26	Uttar Pradesh	03		
27	West Bengal	03		
28	Jammu & Kashmir	01		
29	Puducherry	01		
	Total	60		

Annexure-II

Annexure-II referred to in the statement laid in the reply to the part (b) of Lok Sabha Starred Question No.175 to be answered on 27-07-2017 regarding 'Development of Green /Solar Cities' by Shri Parbhubhai Nagarbhai Vasava and Prof. Richard Hay.

State-wise cumulative funds allocated and released so far including the current year (upto 24th July 2017) under 'Development of Solar Cities Programme'.

Sr.No.	State/UT	(Rs. in Crore)		
		Funds Sanctioned	Funds Released	
1.	Andhra Pradesh	3.46	1.654	
2.	Assam	0.94	0.25	
3.	Arunachal Pradesh	0.47	0.16	
4.	Chandigarh	9.99	8.82	
5.	Chhattisgarh	3.40	0.24	
6.	Delhi	0.500	0.00	
7.	Gujarat	13.405	0.61	
8.	Goa	0.43	0.020	
9.	Haryana	3.457	0.35	
10.	Himachal Pradesh	3.40	1.79	
11.	Karnataka	10.36	0.87	
12.	Kerala	0.49	0.19	
13.	Madhya Pradesh	1.48	0.43	
14.	Maharashtra	17.41	3.345	
15.	Manipur	0.49	0.040	
16.	Mizoram	2.989	2.53	
17.	Nagaland	0.96	0.24	
18.	Odisha	9.970	0.040	
19.	Puducherry	2.99	0.197	
20.	Punjab	3.90	0.26	
21.	Rajasthan	0.94	0.03	
22.	Tamil Nadu	2.99	0.24	
23.	Tripura	2.96	1.37	
24.	Uttar Pradesh	1.49	0.66	
25.	Uttarakhand	1.37	0.32	
26.	West Bengal	1.50	0.41	
TOTAL		101.741	25.066	