GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT DEPARTMENT OF HIGHER EDUCATION

LOK SABHA

STARRED QUESTION No. 1 TO BE ANSWERED ON 17.07.2017

Central Universities

*1. SHRIMATI RAMA DEVI:

Will the Minister of HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government is facilitating establishment of a number of Central Universities under the Central Universities Act, 2009 to address the regional imbalances in the country;
- (b) if so, the details thereof;
- (c) the names of these Universities established under Central Universities Act, 2009 along with their location; and
- (d) the names of Universities from among the above Universities which are under operation?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT (SHRI PRAKASH JAVADEKAR)

(a) to (d) A Statement is laid on the Table of the House.

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (d) OF THE LOK SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO. 1 FOR 17.07.2017 ASKED BY SHRIMATI RAMA DEVI, HON'BLE MEMBER OF PARLIAMENT REGARDING CENTRAL UNIVERSITIES

(a) & (b) At present there is no proposal to set up new Central Universities in the country. However, the Andhra Pradesh Re-organisation Act 2014 envisages establishment of one Central Tribal University each in the State of Andhra Pradesh and Telangana and one Central University in the successor state of Andhra Pradesh. Further, the Prime Minister announced a package for Bihar on 18.8.2015 which includes establishment of a Central University near Bhagalpur at the historic site of Vikramshila University.

With a view to increase the access and improve the quality of higher education and to address the issue of regional imbalance in the country, the 11th five Year Plan (2007-2012), as approved by the National Development Council (NDC), envisaged setting up of one Central University each in States which did not have any Central Universities (CUs) till then. Accordingly, 16 CUs were established under the Central Universities Act, 2009 including 3 State Universities converted into Central Universities.

During 12th Plan (2012-17) as approved by the NDC, the thrust was on consolidation of the higher education system. Expansion is to be mainly done by scaling up capacity of the existing institutions in place of setting up new institutions. Besides, the Central Government has launched Rashtriya Uchchatar Shiksha Abhiyan (RUSA) on cost sharing basis to assist States to open new institutions.

The Central Universities are envisaged to function more as pace setter institutions to provide academic leadership to other institutions in the region rather than as institutions to redress the regional imbalance. 'Education' being a concurrent subject, the State Governments are also taking various initiatives to address the issue of regional imbalance in higher education in the respective States. Besides, Private Universities/Institutions are also playing a significant role in this regard.

(c) & (d) A list of Central Universities established under the Central Universities Act, 2009 along with their location is given at Annexure I. All these Central Universities are operational.

State-Wise list of new and converted Central Universities established under Central Universities Act, 2009

New Central Universities
Bihar
1. Central University of South Bihar, Gaya.
2. Mahatma Gandhi Central University, Motihari.
Gujarat
3. Central University of Gujarat, Gandhinagar
Haryana
4. Central University of Haryana, Mahendergarh.
Himachal Pradesh
5. Central University of Himachal Pradesh, Dharamshala.
Jammu & Kashmir
6. Central University of Kashmir, Srinagar.
7. Central University of Jammu, Jammu.
Jharkhand
8. Central University of Jharkhand, Ranchi
Karnataka
9. Central University of Karnataka, Gulbarga.
Kerala
10. Central University of Kerala, Kasaragod.
Orissa
11. Central University of Orissa, Koraput
Punjab
12. Central University of Punjab, Bhatinda.
Rajasthan
13. Central University of Rajasthan, Ajmer.
Tamil Nadu
14. Central University of Tamil Nadu, Thiruvarur.
Converted Central Universities
Chhattisgarh
15. Guru Ghasidas Vishwavidyalaya, Bilaspur.
Madhya Pradesh
16. Dr. Harisingh Gour Vishwavidyalaya, Sagar.
Uttarakhand
17. Hemawati Nandan Bahuguna Garhwal University, Srinagar.