GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.986 TO BE ANSWERED ON 08.02.2017

BATTERY OPERATED CARS FOR DISABLED

†986. SHRI AJAY MISRA TENI:

Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government is considering to start battery operated car service either by NGO or by Railways at all major railway stations of Uttar Pradesh so as to facilitate the movement of handicapped, sick and old passengers at cheaper rates;
- (b) if so, the details thereof; and
- (c) the details of the total number of railway stations at which this facility will be made available in a planned manner?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS (SHRI RAJEN GOHAIN)

(a) to (c): Zonal Railways have been authorized to introduce Battery Operated Cars (BOCs) at major railway stations of various States including Uttar Pradesh for disabled, elderly and ailing passengers on 'first come first served' basis through sponsorship from individuals, NGOs, Trusts, Charitable institutions, Corporates and PSUs/Corporate Houses under their Corporate Social Responsibility free of charge to passenger or to the Railway. Further, instructions have also been issued to Zonal Railways to invite Expression of Interest for providing the facility of Battery Operated Car service on payment basis initially at 75 major stations which fall in A-1 category of stations. 78 BOCs have already been provided at 56 major railway stations (including 36 A-1 category stations) over Indian Railways. Further, instructions have been issued to zonal railways to provide the said facility at 39 remaining A-1 category stations, details of which are appended.

APPENDIX REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) To (c) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 986 BY SHRI AJAY MISRA TENI TO BE ANSWERED IN LOK SABHA ON 08.02.2017 REGARDING BATTERY-OPERATED CAR FOR DISABLED

(a) to (c): The details of 56 stations (A1, A & B category) where Battery operated car service is available are as under:

Agra Cantt., Bengaluru City, Bengaluru Cantt., Bhatapara, Bhubaneswar, Bilaspur, Chennai Central, Chennai Egmore, Coimbatore Jn., CST Mumbai, Darbhanga Jn., Dhanbad, Dongargarh, Durg, Ernakulam, Gaya Jn., Ghazipur City, Gondia, Gorakhpur, Gulbarga, Gwalior, H. Nizamuddin, Howrah, Jabalpur, Jhansi, Jodhpur, Kota, Kozhikode, Lucknow (NR), Lucknow Jn., Madurai Jn., Manduadih, Mughalsarai Jn., Muzaffarpur Jn., Mysuru Jn., Nagpur, New Delhi, Patna Jn., Pune, Raipur, Raigarh, Rajnandgaon, Rajendranagar, Ranchi, Salem, Sarnath, Sealdah, Shivamogga Town, Solapur, SSP Nilayam, Surat, Tiruchchirappalli, Thiruvananthapuram Central, Varansi City, Visakhapatnam and Yesvantpur.

The details of remaining 39 'A-1' category railway stations are as under:

Ahmedabad, Ajmer, Allahabad, Ambala Cantt., Amritsar, Anand Vihar Terminal, Bandra Terminus, Bareilly, Bhagalpur, Bhopal, Chandigarh, Chhapra Jn., Dadar, Dehradun, Delhi Jn., Guwahati, Haridwar, Hyderabad, Jaipur, Jammu Tawi, Kacheguda, Kalyan, Kanpur Central, Kharagpur, Lokmanya Tilak (T), Ludhiana, Mathura Jn., Mumbai Central main, New Jalpaiguri, Puri, Rajkot, Secunderabad Jn., Tatanagar, Thane, Thrisur, Tirupati, Vadodara, Varanasi Jn. and Vijayawada.