LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.86 TO BE ANSWERED ON 02.02.2017

CLOSED TEXTILE MILLS

86. SHRI RAGHAV LAKHANPAL:

Will the Minister of TEXTILES वस्त्र मंत्री

be pleased to state:

(a) whether a number of textile/spinning mills including cotton, man-made fibre, powerloom have been closed or declared sick;

(b) if so, the details thereof during each of the last three years and the current year along with the reasons therefor, State/UT wise;

(c) whether the Government proposes to revive the said closed mills and if so, the details thereof along with the number of closed mills revived so far, State/UT-wise; and

(d) the financial/technological assistance provided by the Government to the closed mills and if not, the reasons therefor, State/ UT-wise?

उत्तर

ANSWER वस्त्र मंत्री (श्रीमती स्मृति ज़ूबिन इरानी) MINISTER OF TEXTILES (SMT. SMRITI ZUBIN IRANI)

(a) & (b): The details of State wise cotton/man-made fibre textile mills (Non-SSI) closed during last three years and current year are at Annexure-I. No textile mill of National Textile Corporation has been closed during the last three years and during the current year. The main reasons for closure of textile mills include inadequate working capital, insufficient cash flow, increase in cost of production, squeezed profit margin, stressed assets, etc.

(c) & (d): The Government has no scheme/programme to revive these mills at present. However, the Government implements a large number of schemes such as the Technology Upgradation Fund Scheme, Scheme for Integrated Textile Parks, Integrated Skill Development Scheme, North East Textile Promotion Scheme and Handloom, Handicraft, Powerloom sector schemes to provide a conducive environment for revival of textile units in the private sector.

Annexure - No. of Mills (cotton, man made fiber) closed in the last three years and the current year 2016-17													
							C		2013-14	2014-15	2015-16	2016-17 (Apr-16-Jan-17)	Total
							Sr. No.	State	Unit	Unit	Unit	Unit	10141
1	Andhra Pradesh	3	2	3	1	9							
2	Assam	0	0	0	0	0							
3	Bihar	0	0	0	0	0							
4	Chhattisgarh	0	0	0	0	0							
5	Dadra Nagar Haveli	0	0	0	0	0							
6	Daman & Diu	0	0	0	0	0							
7	Delhi	0	0	0	0	0							
8	Goa	0	0	0	0	0							
9	Gujarat	0	0	0	0	0							
10	Haryana	1	1	0	1	3							
11	Himachal Pradesh	0	1	0	0	1							
12	Jammu & Kashmir	0	0	0	0	0							
13	Jharkhand	0	0	0	0	0							
14	Karnataka	1	0	3	0	4							
15	Kerala	0	0	0	0	0							
16	Madhya Pradesh	0	0	0	0	0							
17	Maharashtra	0	0	1	0	1							
18	Manipur	0	0	0	0	0							
19	Orissa	0	0	0	0	0							
20	Pondicherry	0	0	0	0	0							
21	Punjab	0	1	0	0	1							
22	Rajasthan	0	0	2	1	3							
23	TamilNadu	15	12	4	6	37							
24	Telangana	0	1	1	0	2							
25	Uttar Pradesh	0	0	2	0	2							
26	Uttaranchal	2	0	0	0	2							
27	West Bengal	2	0	0	0	2							
	Total	24	18	16	9	67							
