GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.6282 TO BE ANSWERED ON 12.04.2017

MODERNISATION OF STATIONS

6282. SHRIMATI SANTOSH AHLAWAT:

Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Railways floated tenders for modernisation of stations as part of its ambitious station redevelopment plan;
- (b) if so, the details thereof, State-wise especially in the State of Rajasthan;
- (c) whether the State-run transporter plans to attract private investment of upto rupees one lakh crore; and
- (d) if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS (SHRI RAJEN GOHAIN)

(a) to (d): A Statement is laid on the Table of the Hous

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (d) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.6282 BY SHRIMATI SANTOSH AHLAWAT TO BE ANSWERED IN LOK SABHA ON 12.04.2017 REGARDING MODERNISATION OF STATIONS.

(a) to (d): Yes, Madam. Indian Railways has made known to public its plan to offer 'A-1' and 'A' category stations for redevelopment on 'as is where is' basis by inviting proposals from interested parties with their designs and business ideas. The entire cost of station redevelopment is to be met by leveraging commercial development of land and air space in and around the station. M/s. Boston Consulting Group (BCG) have been appointed as Strategy Consultant for the project of station redevelopment by Zonal Railways. Based on studies undertaken by them, they have estimated a total investment of about rupees one lakh crore for station development for all 'A-1' and 'A' category stations taken together. Based on recommendation of M/s. BCG, 23 railway stations in 13 States have been taken up for bidding by 13 Zonal Railways recently in the first phase. The State-wise details of these stations are as under:

S.No.	Name of Station	State	S.No.	Name of Station	State
1	Lokmanya Tilak (Terminus)	Maharashtra	13	Faridabad	Haryana
2	Pune	Maharashtra	14	Visakhapatnam	Andhra Pradesh
3	Thane	Maharashtra	15	Secunderabad	Andhra Pradesh
4	Mumbai Central	Maharashtra	16	Vijayawada	Andhra Pradesh
5	Bandra Terminus	Maharashtra	17	Ranchi	Jharkhand
6	Borivali	Maharashtra	18	Chennai Central	Tamil Nadu
7	Howrah	West Bengal	19	Kozhikode	Kerala
8	Jammu Tawi	Jammu & Kashmir	20	Yashwantpur	Karnataka

9	Kanpur Central	Uttar Pradesh	21	Bangalore Cantt.	Karnataka
10	Allahabad	Uttar Pradesh	22	Indore	Madhya Pradesh
11	Kamakhya	Assam	23	Bhopal	Madhya Pradesh
12	Udaipur City	Rajasthan			
