GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF ENVIRONMENT, FOREST AND CLIMATE CHANGE

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.6180 TO BE ANSWERED ON 11.04.2017

Funds for Pollution Abatement

6180. SHRIMATI BHAVANA PUNDALIKRAO GAWALI PATIL: SHRI ARVIND SAWANT: SHRIMATI REKHA VERMA: SHRI JANARDAN SINGH SIGRIWAL:

Will the Minister of ENVIRONMENT, FOREST AND CLIMATE CHANGE be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government has allocated funds for testing air pollution levels and pollution control measures including monitoring thereof in the major cities of the country;
- (b) if so, the details of the funds allocated/released and utilised in this regard during the last three years and the current year, scheme and State-wise including Bihar;
- (c) whether the Government is considering the proposal made by the US for monitoring the air quality in the country and if so, the details thereof;
- (d) whether the Government proposes to launch public private partnership mode for Transport and Pollution Management Schemes; and
- (e) if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) FOR ENVIORNMENT, FOREST AND CLIMATE CHANGE (SHRI ANIL MADHAV DAVE)

(a) and (b) Central Pollution Control Board (CPCB) in association with State Pollution Control Boards (SPCBs) / Pollution Control Committees (PCCs) monitors air quality across the country under National Air Quality Monitoring Programme (NAMP). The NAMP network comprises of 680 monitoring stations located in 300 cities/towns covering 29 states and 6 union territories. State-wise details of funds released to various monitoring agencies during the years 2013-14, 2014-15, 2015-16 and 2016-17 for ambient air quality monitoring as operational and maintenance cost under National Air Quality Monitoring Programme (NAMP) is annexed.

(c) United States Environment Protection Agency (USEPA) proposal regarding monitoring of air quality in the country largely entails exchange of technical expertise. Technical discussion with USEPA in this regard is an ongoing process and two meetings with USEPA in regard have already been held.

(d) and (e) The Government has formulated the environmental regulations and statutes for management and control of pollution. The Government has also laid down National Ambient Air Quality standards and notified 115 emission/effluent standards for 104 different sectors of industries, besides 32 general standards for ambient air. The compliance and implementation of these provisions and standards by the polluting industries is mandatory and binding. In so far as scheme for abatement of pollution is concerned, it allows for participation of Public as well as Private Sector.

Annexure

Details of Payment Released to Various Monitoring Agencies under National Air					
Quality Monitoring Programme (NAMP)					

S.No	Name of Monitoring Agency	2013-14 (Amount in	2014-15 (Amount in	2015-16 (Amount in	2016-17 (Amount in
•		Rs.)	Rs.)	Rs.)	Rs.)
1.	Andhra Pradesh SPCB	8450000	7666250	-	-
2.	Assam SPCB	8690000	7842500	-	-
3.	Chandigarh PCC	1986667	-	-	4113833
4.	Chhattisgarh ECB	-	-	1526250	-
5.	Gujarat SPCB	3809583	-	-	-
6.	Goa SPCB	8882500	7125000	7789333	-
7.	Jharkhand SPCB	-	-	-	-
8.	Himachal Pradesh SEP & PCB	5578333	-	10128333	-
9.	Karnataka SPCB	-	354167	6749583	-
10.	Kerala SPCB	-	6474167	-	-
11.	Maharashtra SPCB	7467083	-	-	16316919
12.	Meghalaya SPCB	2297500	-	7845833	-
13.	Madhya Pradesh SPCB	-	-	-	7984417
14.	Mizoram SPCB	5931667	1765000	5413333	4253333
15.	Nagaland SPCB	1360000	906667	-	3658667
16.	Orissa SPCB	-	5734583	-	5872500
17.	Punjab SPCB	-	7795417	-	-
18.	Puducherry	-	-	-	5110333
19.	Rajasthan SPCB	-	-	4218750	-
20.	Tamil Nadu SPCB	4399166	2358333	-	-
21.	Uttar Pradesh SPCB	9586667	-	7263333	-
22.	Uttarakhand EP&PCB	3694334	-	4085833	-
23.	NEERI	-	7047000	13612000	22288000
24.	IIT Kanpur	450000	3709378	-	-

Note:- SPCB – State Pollution Control Board, SEP&PCB – State Environment Protection & Pollution Control Board, EP& PCB – Environment Protection & Pollution Control Board, PCC – Pollution Control Committee. NEERI is at present monitoring in 6 cities in 5 different states/Union territories namely Delhi, Maharashtra, West Bengal, Tamil Nadu and Andhra Pradesh.