GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT DEPARTMENT OF HIGHER EDUCATION

LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 5935 TO BE ANSWERED ON 10.04.2017

Courses on Seismology

5935. SHRI GAURAV GOGOI:

Will the Minister of HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government is aware that institutes in the country offer courses like Earthquake Engineering and Computation Seismology and if so, the details thereof;
- (b) whether these courses exist as one of the branches of engineering at the undergraduate level in institutes and if so, the details thereof along with degree and name of the institutes thereof;
- (c) the details of the Seismology Observatories in the country; and
- (d) whether the Government intends to construct more such observatories in the country and if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT (DR. MAHENDRA NATH PANDEY)

(a) & (b): There is no separate Under Graduate Course in Earthquake Engineering and Computation Seismology. The following Institutes are offering Earthquake Engineering / Computational Seismology courses at Post Graduate level as a part in Civil Engineering in India:

- 1. Department of Earthquake Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Roorkee, Uttarakhand.
- 2. Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Kharagpur, West Bengal.
- 3. NIT, Silchar.
- 4. Jamia Milia Islamia University, New Delhi.
- 5. National Information Center of Earthquake Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Kanpur, Uttar Pradesh.
- 6. Department of Geophysics, Banaras Hindu University (BHU), Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh.
- 7. Wadia Institute of Himalayan Geology, Dehradun, Uttarakhand.
- 8. Mumbai University, Mumbai, Maharashtra.

- 9. Kurukhestra University, Haryana.
- 10. Anna University, Chennai, Tamil Nadu.
- 11. Osmania University, Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh.

(c): National Centre of Seismology (NCS), Ministry of Earth Sciences (MoES), maintains a National Seismological Network (NSN) comprising of 84 (eighty four) permanent seismological field stations.

(d): NCS is in process of installation of 31 more new seismological observatories and on completion of this work, NSN will have 115 such seismological observatories. The new seismological observatories state-wise are Haryana (4), Uttarakhand (1), Delhi (3), Jammu & Kashmir (2), Himachal Pradesh (3), Uttar Pradesh (5), Jharkhand (1), Bihar (4), West Bengal (1), Punjab (1) and Rajasthan (2), Madhya Pradesh (2), Chhattisgarh (1) and Lakshadweep (1). These observatories will have digital broadband seismograph system with Very Small Aperture Terminal (VSAT) communication.
