LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.5470 TO BE ANSWERED ON 06.04.2017

TEXTILE MILLS

5470. DR. VIRENDRA KUMAR

Will the Minister of TEXTILES वस्त्र मंत्री be pleased to state:

- (a) the total number of textile mills in the country and the number of them lying closed, State-wise:
- (b) the number of workers rendered jobless due to the closure of these mills;
- (c) whether the Government is taking steps to revive the closed textile mills and for the welfare of jobless workers; and
- (d) if so, the details thereof?

उत्तर

ANSWER

वस्त्र राज्य मंत्री (श्री अजय टम्टा)

MINISTER OF STATE FOR TEXTILES (SHRI AJAY TAMTA)

(a): As on 31.12.2016 there were 3539 mills in the country. The state-wise details are at Annexure-I.

The total number of textile mills closed in the country, state-wise are at Annexure-II.

In so far as National Textile Corporation Limited (NTC) is concerned, it has 23 operational mills as in Annexure-III.

The details of 78 NTC mills closed under Industrial Dispute Act as per Board for Industrial and Financial Reconstruction which were unviable; where the workers had taken Modified Voluntary Retirement Scheme enmass, and also on account of relocation of mills are at Annexure-IV.

- **(b):** In case of 78 unviable closed mills of National Textile Corporation Limited, 46363 employees have availed the benefit of Modified Voluntary Retirement Scheme.
- (c) & (d): The Government has no scheme/programme to revive these mills at present. However, the Government is implementing several schemes to support the Textile Industry which include the Amended Technology Upgradation Fund Scheme (ATUFS); Scheme for Integrated Textile Parks (SITP); Integrated Skill Development Scheme (ISDS); Technology Mission on Technical Textiles (TMTT), etc. The Industry could avail benefits under the above schemes for upgrading/reviving textile units.

As far as NTC is concerned, in the BIFR approved revival scheme MS-08, there is no mandate to restart the closed mills. The workers of NTC closed mills had taken Modified Voluntary Retirement Scheme enmass.

Annexure -I
State/UT-wise No of mills (spinning + composite + weaving) as on 31.12.2016.

Sr. no	State/UT	No of mills
1	Andhra Pradesh	153
2	Assam	9
3	Bihar	4
4	Chhattisgarh	1
5	Goa	1
6	Gujarat	150
7	Haryana	193
8	Himachal Pradesh	21
9	Jammu & Kashmir	2
10	Jharkhand	1
11	Karnataka	51
12	Kerala	40
13	Madhya Pradesh	70
14	Maharashtra	285
15	Manipur	1
16	Orissa	23
17	Punjab	158
18	Rajasthan	96
19	Tamil Nadu	2030
20	Telangana	44
21	Uttar Pradesh	120
22	Uttaranchal	14
23	West Bengal	37
	Union Territories	0
1	Dadra Nagar Haveli	14
2	Daman & Diu	3
3	Delhi	3
4	Pondicherry	15
	Total	3539

Annexure - I	Ι
--------------	---

No	No. of Mills (cotton, man made fiber) closed in the last three years and the current year							
Sr.	or rams (cotton, man	2013-14	2014-15	2015-16	2016-17 (Apr-16- Jan-17)	Total		
No.	State	Unit	Unit	Unit	Unit			
1	Andhra Pradesh	3	2	3	1	9		
2	Assam	0	0	0	0	0		
3	Bihar	0	0	0	0	0		
4	Chhattisgarh	0	0	0	0	0		
5	Dadra Nagar Haveli	0	0	0	0	0		
6	Daman & Diu	0	0	0	0	0		
7	Delhi	0	0	0	0	0		
8	Goa	0	0	0	0	0		
9	Gujarat	0	0	0	0	0		
10	Haryana	1	1	0	1	3		
11	Himachal Pradesh	0	1	0	0	1		
12	Jammu & Kashmir	0	0	0	0	0		
13	Jharkhand	0	0	0	0	0		
14	Karnataka	1	0	3	0	4		
15	Kerala	0	0	0	0	0		
16	Madhya Pradesh	0	0	0	0	0		
17	Maharashtra	0	0	1	0	1		
18	Manipur	0	0	0	0	0		
19	Orissa	0	0	0	0	0		
20	Pondicherry	0	0	0	0	0		
21	Punjab	0	1	0	0	1		
22	Rajasthan	0	0	2	1	3		
23	TamilNadu	15	12	4	6	37		
24	Telangana	0	1	1	0	2		
25	Uttar Pradesh	0	0	2	0	2		
26	Uttaranchal	2	0	0	0	2		
27	West Bengal	2	0	0	0	2		
	Total	24	18	16	9	67		

				ANNEXURE -III
	LIST OF 23 NTC OPERATIONAL MILLS			
A		Sr. NO.	NAME OF THE MILLS	LOCATION
	ANDHRA PRADESH			
		1	TIRUPATHI COTTON MILLS	RENIGUNTA
	GUJARAT			
		2	RAJNAGAR MILLS	AHMEDABAD
	KARNATAKA			
		3	NEW MINERVA MILS	HASSAN
	KERALA			
		4	ALGAPPA TEXTILE MILLS	ALAGAPPANAGAR
			CANNANORE SPG.&	
		5	WVG.MILLS	CANNANORE
		6	KERALA LAXMI MILLS	TRICHUR
ı		7	VIJAYAMOHINI MILLS	TRIVANDRUM
	MADHYA PRADESH			
		8	BURHANPUR TAPTI MILLS	BURHANPUR
			NEW BHOPAL TEXTILE	
		9	MILLS	BHOPAL
	MAHARASHTRA			
		10	PODAR MILLS	MUMBAI
		11	TATA MILLS	MUMBAI
		12	INDIA UNITED M ILL NO.5	MUMBAI
		13	BARSHI TEXTILE MILLS	BARSHI
		14	FINLAY MILLS	ACHALPUR
	MAHE			
			CANNANORE SPG.&	
		15	WVG.MILLS	MAHE
	TAMIL NADU			
		16	PIONEER SPINNERS MILLS	KAMUDAKUDI
			KALEESWARAR MILLS 'B'	
		17	UNIT	KALAYARKOIL
		18	CAMBODIA MILLS	COIMBATORE
			COIMBATORE MURUGAN	GOT 57 1 75
		19	MILLS	COIMBATORE
		20	PANKAJA MILLS	COIMBATORE
		21	SRI RANGAVILAS S.& W.	CORADATIONE
		21	MILLS	COIMBATORE
		22	COIMBATORE SPG & WVG	CODADATORE
	MIDOUD DENIGAT	22	MILLS	COIMBATORE
	WEST BENGAL	23	ARATI COTTON MILLS	DASS NAGAR

ANNEXURE-IV

LIST OF 78 MILLS CLOSED UNDER INDUSTRIAL DESUPTE ACT

	S. No.	NAME OF THE MILLS	LOCATION
Andhra Pradesh	1_	_	
	1	AZAM JAHI MILLS	Waranga
	2	NATRAJ SPINNING MILLS	Adilaba
	3	ADONI COTTON MILLS	Ador
	4	NETHA SPINNING MILLS	Secunderaba
	5	ANANTHAPUR COTTON MILLS	
<u>Assam</u>	_		
	6	ASSOCIASED INDUSTRIES	Chandrapı
<u>Bihar</u>			
	7	GAYA COTTON & JUTE MILLS	Gay
	8	BIHAR CO-OPERATIVE MILLS	Mokame
<u>Gujarat</u>			
	9	AHMEDBAD JUPITER TEX. MILLS	Ahmedaba
	10	JEHANGIR TEXTILE MILLS	Ahmedaba
	11	MAHALAXMI TEX.MILLS	Bhavnag
	12	NEW MANEKCHOWK TEX.MILL	Ahmedaba
	13	PETLAD TEX.MILLS	Petla
	14	RAJKOT TEX.MILLS	Rajk
	15	VIRAMGAM TEX.MILLS	Viramga
	16	RAJNAGAR II	Ahmedaba
	17	HIMADARI TEXTILE MILLS	Ahmedaba
	18	AHMEDABAD NEW TEXTILE MILLS	Ahmedaba
<u>Karnataka</u>			
	19	M.S.K. MILLS	Gulbar
	20	MYSORE SPG. & MFG. MILLS	Bangalo
	21	SHREE YALLAMA COTTON MILLS	Davange
	22	MINERVA MILLS	Bangalo
Madhya Pradesh	ļ		
	23	BENGAL NAGPUR COTTON MILLS	Rajnandgao
	24	HIRA MILLS	Ujja
	25	INDORE MALWA UNITED MILLS	Indo
	26	KALYAN MAL MILLS	Indo
	27	SWADESHI TEXTILE MILLS	Indo
<u>Maharashtra</u>	20	DIDIA INWEED AWAGNO 2	24 1
	28	INDIA UNITED MILLS NO.2	Mumb
	29	INDIA UNITED MILLS NO.3	Mumb
	30	INDIA UNITED MILLS NO.4	Mumb
	31	KOHINOOR MILLS NO.2	Mumb
	32	KOHINOOR MILLS NO.3	Mumb Mumb
	33	JAM MFG. MILLS MODEL MILLS	
	35	R.S.R.G. MILLS	Nagp Ako
	+	SHRI SITARAM MILLS	
	36	VIDHARBHA MILLS	Mumb Achalp
	38	BHARAT TEXTILE MILLS	Mumb
	39	DIGV IJAY TEXTILE MILLS	Mumb
	40	ELPHINSTONE SPG & WVG MILLS	Mumb
	40	JUPITER TEXTILE MILLS	Mumb
	41	MUMBAI TEXTILE MILLS	
	42	NEW HIND TEXTILE MILLS	Mumb Mumb
	43	PODAR PROCESSORS	
	44	SHREE MADHUSUDAN MILLS	Mumb Mumb
	45	INDIA UNITED MILLS NO.6 (DYE Works)	
	40	` /	Mumb
	47	KOHINOOR MILLS NO.1	Mumb

<u>Punjab</u>	_		
	49	DAYALBAGH SPG & WVG MILLS	Amritsar
	50	PANIPAT WOOLLEN MILLS	Kharar
	51	KHARAR TEXTILE MILLS	Kharar
	52	SURAJ TEXTILE MILLS	Malout
Rajasthan			
	53	EDWARD MILLS	Beawar
	54	SHREE BIJAY COTTON MILLS	Bijianagar
Uttar Pradesh			3 0
	55	ATHERTON MILLS	Kanpur
	56	BIJLI COTTON MILLS	Hathras
	57	LAXMIRATTAN COTTON MILLS	Kanpur
	58	LORD KRISHNA TEX.MILLS	Saharanpur
	59	MUIR MILLS	Kanpur
	60	NEW VICTORIA MILLS	Kanpur
	61	RAE BARELI TEX. MILLS	Raebareli
	62	SHRI VIKRAM COTTON MILLS	Lucknow
	63	SWADESHI COTTON MILLS	Kanpur
	64	SWADESHI COTTON MILLS	Naini
West Bengal			
	65	BANGASRI COTTON MILLS	Sonepore
	66	BENGAL FINE S.&W.MILLS NO.II	Kataganj
	67	MANINDRA B.T. MILLS	Cossim Bazar
	68	JYOTI WVG. FACTORY	Patipukur
	69	CENTRAL COTTON MILLS	Belur
	70	SHREE MAHALAXMI COTTON	Palta
	71	BENGAL FINE S.&W.MILLS NO.I	Konnagar
	72	BENGAL LUXMI COTTON MILLS	Serampore
	73	RAMPOORIA COTTON MILLS	Rishra
Tamil Nadu			
	74	BALARAMAVARMA TEXTILE MILLS	Shencottah
	75	KISHNAVENI TEXTILE MILLS	Coimbatore
	76	OM PARASAKTHI MILLS	Coimbatore
	77	SOMASUNDARAM MILLS	Coimbatore
	78	KALEESWARAR MILLS 'A' UNIT	Coimbatore