GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF ELECTRONICS AND INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 5171 TO BE ANSWERED ON: 05.04.2017

DIGIDHAN MELA

5171. SHRIMATI SANTOSH AHLAWAT:

Will the Minister of ELECTRONICS AND INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY be pleased to state:

- (a) whether recently the Government decided to organize 'DIGIDHAN Mela' all over the country to educate people and promote e-payments at the grass-root level of the country;
- (b) if so, the details thereof, State-wise;
- (c) whether all districts will also be covered under the above said programme;
- (d) if so, the number of districts covered till now including in Rajasthan, State-wise; and
- (e) whether any Ministry has any provision to help Member of Parliament who wants to organize such Melas and if so, the details thereof ?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE FOR ELECTRONICS AND INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY (SHRI P. P. CHAUDHARY)

(a) to (e): Yes, Madam. As part of the Government initiative in popularizing Digital Payments, DigiDhan Melas are being organized in 100 cities in different parts of the country under DigiDhan Abhiyan. Government of India in collaboration with the State governments and district collectors has been organising DigiDhan Melas starting from 25th December, 2016 which will end on 14th April, 2017.

In addition, NITI Aayog has launched two schemes namely 'Lucky Grahak Yojana' for consumers and 'Digi-Dhan Vyapar Yojana' for merchants on 25th December, 2016 at the DigiDhan Mela organized at Vigyan Bhawan, New Delhi. These schemes provide daily and weekly awards to citizens and merchants for undertaking digital transactions made through Cards/Point of Sales(PoS), Aadhaar Enabled Payment System(AEPS), Unified Payment Interface (UPI) Apps, and Unstructured Supplementary Service Data(USSD) etc.

As on 31st March, 2017 the DigiDhan Melas have been held in 90 cities across the country in 33 States/UTs. State-wise number of cities covered till now including Rajasthan is as follows:

Sl. No	States/UTs	Number of cities in which Mela has been organized
1	Andaman & Nicobar Islands	1
2	Andhra Pradesh	3
3	Arunachal Pradesh	1
4	Assam	2

5	Bihar	4
6	Chandigarh	1
7	Chhattisgarh	4
8	Dadra & Nagar Haveli	1
9	Daman & Diu	1
10	Delhi	2
11	Goa	1
12	Gujarat	6
13	Haryana	5
14	Himachal Pradesh	2
15	Jammu & Kashmir	3
16	Jharkhand	4
17	Karnataka	4
18	Kerala	3
19	Lakshwadeep	1
20	Madhya Pradesh	5
21	Maharashtra	5
22	Meghalaya	1
23	Mizoram	1
24	Odisha	3
25	Puducherry	1
26	Punjab	4
27	Rajasthan	7
28	Tamil Nadu	2
29	Telangana	4
30	Tripura	1
31	Uttar Pradesh	4
32	Uttarakhand	2
33	West Bengal	1
	Total	90
