GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF POWER

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.4667 TO BE ANSWERED ON 30.03.2017

ELECTRIFICATION OF VILLAGES

4667. SHRI S.P. MUDDAHANUME GOWDA:

Will the Minister of POWER be pleased to state:

- (a) whether more than 18,000 villages do not have basic facility of electricity and 25 per cent of the people are still deprived of electricity for which the Government is working;
- (b) if so, the details thereof;
- (c) whether many State Governments have expressed their desire to join Ujwal Discom Assurance Yojana (UDAY); and
- (d) if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) FOR POWER, COAL, NEW & RENEWABLE ENERGY AND MINES

(SHRI PIYUSH GOYAL)

(a) & (b): As informed by the States, there were 18,452 un-electrified census villages in the country as on 01.04.2015. Of these, 12,364 villages have been electrified as on 28.02.2017. All the un-electrified villages are targeted to be electrified by 1st May, 2018.

As per Census 2011, out of 1678 lakh rural households in the country, 750 lakh rural households were un-electrified. Under Rural Electrification component of Deen Dayal Upadhyaya Gram Jyoti Yojana (DDUGJY), 94.76 lakh BPL Households have been electrified since FY 2011-12.

(c) & (d): So far twenty five (25) States and one (01) Union Territory namely Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Goa, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu & Kashmir, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Manipur, Meghalaya, Punjab, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu, Telangana, Tripura, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand and Union Territory of Puducherry have signed the Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with the Ministry of Power (MoP) under Ujwal Discom Assurance Yojana (UDAY).
