GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF CULTURE LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.3979 TO BE ANSWERED ON 27.03.2017 CHAITRA 6, 1938 (SAKA)

CONSTRUCTION AROUND MONUMENTS

3979. SHRI P. NAGARAJAN:

Will the Minister of CULTURE be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government proposes to grant permission for the construction work for the benefit of the people near a prohibited area of the Monuments across the country;
- (b) if so, the details thereof and the kind of construction works proposed to be allowed near the monuments; and
- (c) the total number of monuments presently prohibited for undertaking construction work across the country, State/UT-wise?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE, CULTURE AND TOURISM (INDEPENDENT CHARGE)

(DR. MAHESH SHARMA)

- (a)&(b) As per the Ancient Monuments and Archaeological Sites and Remains Act, 1958 (as amended in 2010) persons having buildings or houses in the prohibited area (within 100 metres zone from protected monuments) of any Centrally protected monument may undertake repairs and renovation after obtaining permission from the Competent Authority on the recommendation of the National Monuments Authority. Further, in case of regulated area (200 metres zone further beyond prohibited area) the persons may undertake construction, reconstruction, repairs and renovation only after obtaining permission from the Competent Authority on the recommendation of National Monuments Authority.
- (c) Provisions of the Ancient Monuments and Archaeological Sites and Remains Act, 1958 (as amended in 2010) are applicable on 3686 centrally protected monuments/sites under Archaeological Survey of India. The State-wise number is at Annexure.

ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (c) OF THE LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.3979 FOR 27.3.2017

NUMBER OF CENTRALLY PROTECTED MONUMENTS/ SITES UNDER THE JURISDICTION OF ARCHAEOLOGICAL SURVEY OF INDIA IN THE COUNTRY

SI.No.	Name of State	Monuments/Sites
1.	Andhra Pradesh	129
2.	Arunachal Pradesh	03
3.	Assam	55
4.	Bihar	70
5.	Chhattisgarh	47
6.	Daman & Diu (U. T.)	12
7.	Goa	21
8.	Gujarat	203
9.	Haryana	91
10. 11.	Himachal Pradesh	40
11.	Jammu & Kashmir	69
12.	Jharkhand	13
13.	Karnataka	506
14.	Kerala	28
15.	Madhya Pradesh	292
16.	Maharashtra	285
17.	Manipur	01
18.	Meghalaya	08
19.	Mizoram	01
20.	Nagaland	04
21.	N.C.T. Delhi	174
22.	Odisha	79
23.	Puducherry (U.T.)	07
24.	Punjab	33
25.	Rajasthan	162
26.	Sikkim	03
27.	Telangana	08
28.	Tamilnadu	413
29.	Tripura	08
30.	Uttar Pradesh	743
31.	Uttarakhand	42
32.	West Bengal	136
	TOTAL	3686