Government of India Ministry of Coal Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No. 3623 To be answered on 23.03.2017

Possession of Coal Blocks

3623. PROF. SAUGATA ROY:

Will the Minister of COAL be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of coal blocks under the possession of various State Governments for generation of power in the country;
- (b) whether any State Government has denied possession of coal blocks even after they paid the necessary amounts for coal blocks;
- (c) if so, the details thereof;
- (d) whether the Government proposes to allot new coal blocks to the States for their own purposes; and
- (e) if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE (I/C) FOR COAL, POWER, NEW & RENEWABLE ENERGY AND MINES (SHRI PIYUSH GOYAL)

(a): Allocation of coal mines / blocks are made under the provisions of the Coal Mines (Special Provisions) Act, 2015 as well as Mines and Minerals (Development and Regulation) Act, 1957. The details of coal mines allotted to various State Government Undertakings or their joint venture companies for the end use 'Power' is at the Annexure-1 and Annexure-2.

Further, one coal block namely Trans Damodar has been allocated by way of auction to Durgapur Projects Limited, a State Government company, for the end use 'Power' under the provisions of the Coal Mines (Special Provisions) Act, 2015.

- (b) & (c): No State Government has denied possession of coal blocks after paying the necessary amounts for coal blocks. However, Madhya Pradesh Power Generating Company Ltd. (MPPGCL), which was allotted Gondbahera-Ujheni coal block under the provisions of the Mines and Minerals (Development and Regulation) Act, 1957 for the specified end use 'Power' has elected to terminate the Coal Block Development and Production Agreement. Further, in the case of Dahegaon / Makardhokra IV coal mine, allotted to Maharashtra State Mining Corporation Limited for sale of coal under the provisions of the Coal Mines (Special Provisions) Act, 2015, the allotment agreement has been terminated since the allottee had failed to comply with the Allotment conditions.
- (d) & (e): Allocation of coal mines / blocks is an ongoing process under the provisions of the Coal Mines (Special Provisions) Act, 2015 and the Mines and Minerals (Development and Regulation) Act, 1957, for which there is a prescribed process, wherein Nominated Authority / Ministry of Coal is required to publish Notice Inviting Applications and make allocations as per the norms specified.

Annexure-1

<u>State-wise list of 31 coal mines allotted to State Government Public Sector Undertakings under the provisions of the Coal Mines (Special Provisions) Act, 2015 for the end use 'Power'.</u>

| Host State | Name of Coal Mine / Block | Successful Allottee | No. of Coal Mines | |
|--------------|--|---|----------------------|--|
| Chhattisgarh | Gare Palma Sector I | Gujarat State Electricity Corporation Ltd. | 1 | |
| | Gare Palma Sector II | Maharashtra State Power Generation Co Ltd. | 1 | |
| | Gare Palma Sector III | Chhattisgarh State Power Generation Co Ltd | 1 | |
| | Gidhmuri, Paturia | Chhattisgarh State Power Generation Co Ltd | 2 | |
| | Parsa | Rajasthan Rajya Vidyut Utpadan Nigam Ltd | 1 | |
| | Parsa East, Kanta Basan | Rajasthan Rajya Vidyut Utpadan Nigam Ltd | 2 | |
| Jharkhand | Badam | Bihar State Power Generation Co Ltd | 1 | |
| | Banhardih | Jharkhand Urja Utpadan Nigam Ltd | 1 | |
| | Pachhwara Central | Punjab State Power Corp Ltd | 1 | |
| | Pachhwara North | West Bengal Power Development Corp. Ltd. | 1 | |
| | Rajbar D & E | Tenughat Vidyut Nigam Ltd | 1 | |
| | Saharpur Jamarpani | UP Rajya Vidyut Útpadan Nigam Ltd | 1 | |
| Maharashtra | laharashtra Baranj I, Baranj II, Baranj III, Baranj IV, Manora Deep & Kiloni Karnataka Power Corporati | | 6 | |
| Odisha | Manoharpur & Manoharpur Dipside | Odisha Coal & Power Ltd. | 2 | |
| | Naini | The Singareni Collieries Co Ltd | 1 | |
| Telangana | Tadicherla-I | Telangana State Power Generation Corp. Ltd. | 1 | |
| West Bengal | Barjora | West Bengal Power Development Corp. Ltd. | 1 | |
| | Barjora (North) | West Bengal Power Development Corp. Ltd. | 1 | |
| | Gangaramchak, Gangaramchak | | 2 | |
| | Bhadulia | West Bengal Power Development Corp. Ltd. | | |
| | Kasta East | West Bengal Power Development Corp.Ltd. | 1 | |
| | Tara East & West | West Bengal Power Development Corp. Ltd. | 2 | |

Annexure-2

<u>List of coal blocks allocated under the provisions of the Mines and Minerals (Development & Regulation) Act, 1957 and Auction by competitive bidding of coal mines Rules 2012 for the end use 'Power'.</u>

| S. | Host State | Coal Block allocated | Name of Allocatee company(ies) |
|-----|----------------|----------------------|---|
| No. | | | |
| 1. | Chhattisgarh | Kente Extension | Rajasthan Rajya Vidyut Utpadan Nigam Ltd. |
| 2. | Odisha | Tentuloi | Odisha Thermal Power Corporation Ltd. |
| 3. | Madhya Pradesh | Gondbahera-Ujheni | Madhya Pradesh Power Generating Company Ltd. |
| 4. | Odisha | Kudanali-Luburi | (i) Jammu & Kashmir State Power Dev. Corp. Ltd. |
| | | | (ii) NTPC Ltd.(Central Public Sector Undertaking) |
| | | | |
| 5. | Odisha | Chandrabila | Tamil Nadu Generation and Distribution Corporation Ltd. |
| 6. | Maharashtra | Mahajanwadi | Maharashtra State Power Generation Co. Ltd. |
| 7. | Odisha | Sarapal-Nuapara | Andhra Pradesh Power Generation Corp. Ltd. |
| 8. | Jharkhand | Kalyanpur-Badalpara | Haryana Power Generation Corp. Ltd. |
| 9. | Jharkhand | Pachwara South | M/s Neyveli Uttar Pradesh Power Limited |
| | | | (Joint Venture between NLCIL and Uttar Pradesh Rajya Vidyut |
| | | | Utpadan Nigam Ltd) |