GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF PANCHAYATI RAJ

LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 35

ANSWERED ON 02.02.2017

e-Panchayat

35: SHRI B. SRIRAMULU:

Will the Minister of PANCHAYATI RAJ be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the e-Panchayat Mission Mode Project (MMP) formulated for e-Governance in panchayats has been implemented in the country and if so, the details thereof, State/UT-wise and if not, the reasons therefor;
- (b) whether internet and other basic infrastructure facilities have been provided to all the panchayats in Karnataka under the MMP;
- (c) if so, the details thereof, as on date, district-wise and if not, the reasons therefor along with the time by which the said facilities are likely to be provided to all the panchayats in the State;
- (d) whether the Government proposes to provide additional funds to the State under the said Project;
- (e) if so, the details thereof along with the funds earmarked and progress made under the said Project; and
- (f) the steps taken/being taken by the Government to strengthen e-Government in Panchayati Raj Institutions across the country with special reference to Karnataka?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF PANCHAYATI RAJ (SHRI PARSHOTTAM RUPALA)

(a) Yes, Madam. The Ministry of Panchayati Raj (MoPR) is implementing e-Panchayat, a Mission Mode Project to completely transform the functioning of Panchayati Raj Institutions, making them more transparent, accountable and effective as last mile cutting edge units of decentralized local self-governments. Under e-Panchayat, a suite of Core Common Software Applications has been developed to address various aspects of Panchayats' functioning including planning, budgeting, implementation, accounting, monitoring, social audit and delivery of citizen services like issue of certificates, licences, etc. Lack of internet connectivity, power supply, manpower and

- capacity continue to pose hindrances in the proper implementation of e-Governance activities. Due to differentials in the level of preparedness for e-enablement at the Panchayat level, the pace of adoption of these Applications varies across and within the States/UTs. Besides, several States have also developed their own State-specific applications to address various areas of Panchayat functioning. It is an ongoing activity.
- (b) & (c) Internet and other basic facilities have not been provided to the State under the MMP. However, Government of Karnataka has informed that internet and other basic facilities has been provided to 5563 old Gram Panchayats (GPs) in Karnataka. For newly constituted GPs, State has released Rs. 3 Lakh per GP to procure basic facilities like computers and related accessories. Presently in 4622 GPs internet connectivity is extended under BharatNet project and the District-wise break-up is given at Annex. The remaining GPs are using Data card and other broadband facilities.
- (d) & (e) The MoPR does not plan to provide any additional funds to the State for this purpose.
- (f) The MoPR provided support for project management of e-Panchayat project at the State and District levels under the Rajiv Gandhi Panchayat Sashaktikaran Abhiyan programme. However, many State Governments are also supplementing this support through additional measures taken at the State level. In Karnataka, the State Government is taking steps to provide 100 services electronically at Gram Panchayat level. Additional Data Entry Operators, free *wi fi* and e-library have also been proposed by the State Government for Gram Panchayats.

Annex referred to in reply to part (b) and (c) of the Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No. 35 answered on 02.02.2017 regarding e-Panchayat

District-wise list of Gram Panchayats connected with Broadband in Karnataka

S1.	DISTRICT	No of GPs connected with Broadband through BharatNet Project
1	BAGALKOT	38
2	BENGALURU RURAL	37
3	BELGAUM	310
4	BELLARY	178
5	BENGALURU URBAN	85
6	BIDAR	134
7	BIJAPUR	109
8	CHAMARAJANAGAR	119
9	CHIKBALLAPUR	145
10	CHIKMAGALUR	215
11	CHITRADURGA	149
12	DAKSHINA KANNADA	157
13	DAVANAGERE	221
14	DHARWAD	109
15	GADAG	104
16	GULBARGA	87
17	HASSAN	255
18	HAVERI	167
19	KOLAR	153
20	KOPPAL	127
21	MADIKERI	92
22	MANDYA	232
23	MYSORE	235
24	RAICHUR	142
25	RAMANAGARA	106
26	SHIMOGA	248
27	TUMKUR	316
28	UDUPI	144
29	UTTAR KANNAD	164
30	YADGIR	44
	GRAND TOTAL	4622

^{*} Above information as confirmed by Karnataka Government on 28.01.2017