### GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF TOURISM

# LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.2895 ANSWERED ON 20.03.2017

#### RAMAYANA TOURIST CIRCUIT

2895. DR. RATNA DE (NAG):

SHRI HARI OM PANDAY:

**SHRI GANESH SINGH:** 

Will the Minister of TOURISM be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government is contemplating to build Ramayana Circuit in order to encourage tourism;
- (b) if so, the details thereof and the funds allocated by the Government in this regard during the last two years;
- (c) whether the Government proposes to include Chitrakoot and Satna districts of Madhya Pradesh in Ramayana Circuit;
- (d) whether the Government has formulated any plan to develop 84 Kosi Parikarma of Rampath Gaman; and
- (e) if so, the details thereof?

#### **ANSWER**

## MINISTER OF STATE FOR TOURISM (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) (DR. MAHESH SHARMA)

(a) and (b): For Integrated Development of Theme-Based Tourist Circuits in the country, the Ministry of Tourism has launched Swadesh Darshan Scheme in 2014-15. Ramayana Circuit has been identified as one of the thirteen thematic circuits for development under the Scheme.

Under Ramayana Circuit, Ministry of Tourism has sanctioned the project 'Development of Chitrakoot and Shringverpur as Ramayana Circuit' in Uttar Pradesh with Central Financial Assistance of Rs.69.45 crore in 2016-17.

- (c) to (e): The Ministry of Tourism has initially identified following destinations for development under the Ramayana Circuit theme of Swadesh Darshan Scheme.
  - 1. Ayodhya, Nandigram, Shringverpur & Chitrakoot (Uttar Pradesh);
  - 2. Sitamarhi, Buxar & Darbhanga (Bihar);
  - 3. Chitrakoot (Madhya Pradesh);
  - 4. Mahendragiri (Odisha);
  - 5. Jagdalpur (Chattisgarh);
  - 6. Nashik & Nagpur (Maharashtra);
  - 7. Bhadrachalam (Telangana);
  - 8. Hampi (Karnataka);
  - 9. Rameshwaram (Tamil Nadu).

\*\*\*\*\*