GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF TOURISM

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.†2779 ANSWERED ON 20.03.2017

INCLUSION OF SITES UNDER PRASAD SCHEME

†2779. SHRI NAGAR RODMAL:

Will the Minister of TOURISM be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government has formulated any scheme for increasing the number of sites identified for coverage under the Prasad scheme;
- (b) if so, the details thereof;
- (c) whether there is any scheme to include other places in the list; and
- (d) if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE FOR TOURISM (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) (DR. MAHESH SHARMA)

(a) to (d): Identification of new sites for development under PRASAD scheme is a continuous process subject to availability of resources and adherence to scheme guidelines.

PRASAD Scheme was launched in 2014-15 with 12 identified sites namely Ajmer (Rajasthan), Amritsar (Punjab), Amaravati (Andhra Pradesh), Dwarka (Gujarat), Gaya (Bihar), Kedarnath (Uttarakhand), Kamakhya (Assam), Kanchipuram (Tamil Nadu), Mathura (Uttar Pradesh), Puri (Odisha), Varanasi (Uttar Pradesh) and Vellankani (Tamil Nadu).

During 2015-16, Patna (Bihar) and in 2016-17, 12 more sites were added in the scheme for development namely Ayodhya (Uttar Pradesh), Badrinath (Uttarakhand), Belur (West Bengal), Deoghar (Jharkhand), Guruvayur (Kerala), Hazratbal and Katra (Jammu & Kashmir), Omkareshwar (Madhya Pradesh), Somnath (Gujarat), Srisailam and Tirupati (Andhra Pradesh), Trimbakeshwar (Maharashtra).
