GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF YOUTH AFFAIRS & SPORTS (DEPARTMENT OF YOUTH AFFAIRS)

LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2417 TO BE ANSWERED ON 16.03.2017

Nehru Yuva Kendra Sangathan

2417. SHRI RAM MOHAN NAIDU KINJARAPU:

Will the Minister of YOUTH AFFAIRS AND SPORTS be pleased to state:

- (a) the norms adopted for setting up of Nehru Yuva Kendras across the country;
- (b) whether there is a provision for any Board of Governors for the purpose and if so, the details thereof;
- (c) whether there is a provision for nomination of Members to such Board and if so, the details thereof;
- (d) the process of such nomination along with the length of their tenure; and
- (e) the details of presently nominated Board of Governors and their tenures?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) FOR YOUTH AFFAIRS & SPORTS

(SHRI VIJAY GOEL)

- (a) Nehru Yuva Kendras (NYKs) are set up at District level, with the primary objective of developing the personality and leadership qualities of the youth and to involve them in nation-building activities. The Scheme of setting up of Nehru Yuva Kendras was introduced in 1972. In the year 1987, an autonomous body called Nehru Yuva Kendra Sangathan (NYKS) was established for effective implementation of the Scheme and all the NYKs were placed under this autonomous body. NYKs have been set up in various Districts in a phased manner. At present, 623 NYKs are functioning all over the country.
- (b) to (d): Yes, Madam. As per Rules of NYKS, there is a Board of Governors, under chairmanship of Minister for Youth Affairs, with

official and non-official members. There is provision of nomination of non-official members. Following non-official members are nominated by the Government in Board of Governors: -

- i. Two Member of Parliament Lok Sabha
- ii. One Member of Parliament Rajya Sabha
- iii. Five persons eminent in the field of Culture, Social work, Voluntary Organizations, Academics, Training Institutions, Information, Adventure, Sports, Art and other allied fields.
- iv. One person to be nominated by the Chairperson.

Three of the members may be nominated by the Government as Vice Chairpersons. The tenure of the members is 3 years.

(e) Details of the members nominated on the BOG are at the Annexure.

ANNEXURE

ANNEXURE - REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (e) OF THE LOK SABHA UNSTARRED Q.NO. 2417 FOR 16.03.2017 ASKED BY SHRI RAM MOHAN NAIDU KINJARAPU REGARDING NEHRU YUVA KENDRA SANGATHAN.

S.N	NAME of the Member	NOMINATION REFERENCE	Details of Tenure
1.	Shri Pravesh Sahib Singh	Member of	30-7-2014 to 29-7-2017
		Parliament (Lok	
		Sabha)	
2.	Shri Nalin Kumar Kateel	Member of	30-7-2014 to 29-7-2017
		Parliament (Lok	
		Sabha)	
3.	Mrs Roopa Ganguli,	Member of	22-12-2016 to 29-7-2017
		Parliament (Rajya	
		Sabha)	
4	Shri Shekhar Rao Perala	Eminent Person	13-3-2015 to 12-3-2018
5.	Shri Dilip Saikia	Eminent Person	13-3-2015 to 12-3-2018
6.	Shri Dinesh Pratap Singh	Eminent Person	26-12-2016 to 12-3-2018
7	Shri Shivraj	Eminent Person	13-3-2015 to 12-3-2018
8.	Mrs. Rani Nighot Dwivedi	Eminent Person	16-04-2015 to 15-04-2018
9.	Shri S. K. Bhattacharya	Nominated by the	14-03-2017 to 12-03-2018
		Chairperson	
