GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF PLANNING

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2246 TO BE ANSWERED ON 15.03.2017

CENTRAL REGULATORY AUTHORITIES

2246. SHRI PINAKI MISRA

Will the Minister of PLANNING be pleased to state:

- (a) the number of Central Regulatory Authorities in the country at present;
- (b) the details of the judicial and non-judicial powers enjoyed by these Regulatory Authorities: and
- (c) the steps taken by the Government to create a uniform national framework for orderly development of infrastructure and protection of consumer interests?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) FOR MINISTRY OF PLANNING AND MINISTER OF STATE FOR MINISTRY OF URBAN DEVELOPMENT AND MINISTRY OF HOUSING & URBAN POVERTY ALLEVIATION

(RAO INDERJIT SINGH)

- (a) There are 11 Central Regulatory Authorities in the country related directly or indirectly to infrastructure sector. These are listed below:
- 1. Insurance Regulatory Development Authority of India (IRDA)
- 2. Telecom Regulatory Authority of India (TRAI)
- 3. Central Electricity Regulatory Commission (CERC)
- 4. Competition Commission of India (CCI)
- 5. Securities and Exchange Board of India (SEBI)
- 6. Pension Fund Regulatory and Development Authority (PFRDA)
- 7. Petroleum and Natural Gas Regulatory Board (P&NGRB)
- 8. Warehousing Development and Regulatory Authority (WDRA)
- 9. Airports Economic Regulatory Authority of India (AERI)
- 10. Tariff Authority for Major Ports (TAMP)
- 11. Atomic Energy Regulatory Board (AERB)
- (b) Regulatory authorities are quasi-judicial bodies which have the powers of a Civil Court for the purposes of inquiry or proceedings under the Act through which they were created by the Parliament. A regulatory authority has the powers to impose penalty for non-compliance of its directions as well as powers to adjudicate the disputes. Non Judicial powers of the regulatory authorities are to protect the interest of the people by ensuring fair competition, transparent and competitive markets and protecting consumers from exploitation.

(c) NITI Aayog is formulating the Regulatory Reforms Bill, an omnibus legislation catering to the generic aspects of regulatory commissions that are related to selection and appointment of members, qualification for appointment of members, term of office and other conditions, removal of member, protection of consumer interests, and independence and accountability, which are common to all regulators in the public utility industry – Electricity, Telecommunications and Internet, Broadcasting and Cable TV, Airports, Ports, Oil and Gas, and other utility sectors, as and when regulatory authorities are created for such utility sectors.
