GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.2193 TO BE ANSWERED ON 15.03.2017

PASSPORT OFFICE IN DEOGHAR AND VIJAYAWADA

2193. SHRI NISHIKANT DUBEY: SHRI Y.S. AVINASH REDDY: SHRI RAVINDRAKUMAR PANDEY:

Will the Minister of EXTERNAL AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government has received proposals from various
 States to establish passport offices including Deoghar
 (Jharkhand) and Vijayawada in Andhra Pradesh;
- (b) if so, the response of the Government thereto; and
- (c) the timeline to establish the passport offices at the above places?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS [GEN. (Dr) V. K. SINGH (RETD)]

(a) The Government has received requests from time to time from Members of Parliament, Members of the Legislative Assemblies of States, other elected representatives and prominent public figures for opening of Passport Offices and Passport Seva Kendras in various States including at Deoghar in Jharkhand and at Vijayawada in Andhra Pradesh.

(b) In response to these requests and in order to extend passport services to our citizens on a larger scale and to ensure wider area coverage,the Ministry of External Affairs (MEA) and the Department of Posts (DOP) have decided to utilize the Head Post Offices (HPO) in the various States as Post Office Passport Seva Kendra (POPSK) for delivering passport related services to the citizens of the country. The pilot projects for this joint venture between MEA and DOP was inaugurated on 25 January, 2017 at the Post Offices at Mysuru in Karnataka and at Dahod in Gujarat. The POPSK at these two places have been running successfully since their inauguration. With the successful operationalization of these two pilot projects, the Government has now decided to scale up this programme by opening 64 more POPSKs including at Deoghar in Jharkhand, as per the list attached at Annexure.

(c) Out of the 64 POPSK at Annexure, ten POPSKs at Asansol, Kavaratti, Kota, Muzaffarpur, Pathanamthitta, Raiganj, Rourkela, Salem, Udhampur and Vidisha have since been inaugurated taking the total number of POPSKs as on date to twelve. There is a PSK already existing at Vijayawada. Both MEA and DOP are working closely for the early commencement of passport related services at the remaining 54 POPSK.

* * * * * *

ANNEXURE

S.N.	Locations	State	S.N.	Locations	State
1.	Kurnool	Andhra Pradesh	33.	Gulbarga	Karnataka
2.	Kadappa	Andhra Pradesh	34.	Pathanamthitta	Kerala
3.	Silchar	Assam	35.	Kasargod	Kerala
4.	Purnia	Bihar	36.	Kavaratti	Lakshadweep
5.	Gopalganj	Bihar	37.	Gwalior	Madhya Pradesh
6.	Muzaffarpur	Bihar	38.	Satna	Madhya Pradesh
7.	Bhagalpur	Bihar	39.	Jabalpur	Madhya Pradesh
8.	Siwan	Bihar	40.	Vidisha	Madhya Pradesh
9.	Surguja	Chhattisgarh	41.	Aurangabad	Maharashtra
10.	Daman	Daman	42.	Beed	Maharashtra
11.	Diu	Diu	43.	Ghatkopar	Maharashtra
12.	Silvasa	Dadra & Nagar	44.	Mumbai North	Maharashtra
		Haveli		Central	
13.	East Delhi	Delhi	45.	Mumbai South	Maharashtra
				Central	
14.	Noth East Delhi	Delhi	46.	Jalgaon	Maharashtra
15.	North West Delhi	Delhi	47.	Kolhapur	Maharashtra
16.	South Delhi	Delhi	48.	Pimpri Chinchwad	Maharashtra
17.	West Delhi	Delhi	49.	Rourkela	Odisha
18.	Bhuj	Gujarat	50.	Sambalpur	Odisha
19.	Palanpur	Gujarat	51.	Koraput	Odisha
20.	Hisar	Haryana	52.	Kota	Rajasthan
21.	Karnal	Haryana	53.	Jaisalmer	Rajasthan
22.	Faridabad	Haryana	54.	Jhunjhunu	Rajasthan
23.	Palampur	Himachal Pradesh	55.	Bikaner	Rajasthan
24.	Hamirpur	Himachal Pradesh	56.	Jhalawar	Rajasthan
25.	Leh	J&K	57.	Salem	Tamil Nadu
26.	Udhampur	J&K	58.	Vellore	Tamil Nadu
27.	Jamshedpur	Jharkhand	59.	Mehbubnagar	Telangana
28.	Dhanbad	Jharkhand	60.	Warangal	Telangana
29.	Deoghar	Jharkhand	61.	North Kolkata	West Bengal
30.	Belgaum	Karnataka	62.	Asansol	West Bengal
31.	Devangere	Karnataka	63.	Nadia	West Bengal
32.	Hassan	Karnataka	64.	Raiganj	West Bengal
