# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF MINES LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.1498 TO BE ANSWERED ON 9.3 .2017

### **Operable Mines**

#### 1498. SHRI VISHNU DAYAL RAM :

Will the Minister of MINES be pleased to state:

(a) the total number of operable mines in Jharkhand;

(b) the total number of lease applications received by different mineral rich States particularly Jharkhand during the last as well as current plan period;

(c) the details of those operable mines in Jharkhand for which no application has been received alo ng with the reasons for the same, if any; and

(d) the number of lease granted for mining in different mineral rich States during each year of the current plan?

## ANSWER

# MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) FOR POWER, COAL, NEW & RENWABLE ENERGY AND MINES (SHRI PIYUSH GOYAL)

(a) to (d): Before the Mines and Minerals (Development and Regulation) (MMDR) Amendment Act, 2015 the State Governments used to grant Mining Lease under the provision of the MMDR Act, 1957 . Prior approval of the Central Government was required under Section 5(1) of the Act for grant of Mining Lease in respect of the minerals specified in part 'B' and 'C' of the First Schedule to the MMDR Act. The application s for Mining Leases were received and granted by the State Government s; therefor e, information regarding the details of total number of operable mines in all States including Jharkhand is not centrally maintained. MMDR Amend ment Act, 2015 has brought in auction as the sole method of grant of mineral concession for major minerals. Regulation of minor minerals comes under the exclusive purview of the State Government s. Details of the prior approval s granted by Ministry of Mines under Section 5 (1) of the MMDR Act, 1957 during the current plan period is given at Annexure.

\*\*\*\*\*

Printed by BoltPDF (c) NCH Software. Free for non-commercial use only.

State wise number of mining leases, where prior approval was granted by Ministry of Mines, Government of India during years 2012-13 to 2016-17 (till 7.3.2017):

State	2012-13	2013-14	2014-15	2015-16	2016-17 (till 7.3.2017)
Andhra Pradesh	00	00	00	00	01
Chhattisgarh	01	00	00	02	00
Jharkhand	00	00	00	01	00
Karnataka	00	00	00	01	00
Madhya Pradesh	01	05	01	01	00
Maharashtra	01	00	01	00	00
Rajasthan	03	04	04	00	00
Tamil Nadu	07	00	01	00	00
Total	13	09	07	05	01