GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RURAL DEVELOPMENT DEPARTMENT OF RURAL DEVELOPMENT

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 141 TO BE ANSWERED ON 02.02.2017

COMMITTEE FOR DEVELOPMENTAL WORKS

141. SHRI OM PRAKASH YADAV:

Will the Minister of **RURAL DEVELOPMENT** be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government has constituted any committee for developmental works being undertaken with public participation in rural areas of country;
- (b) if so, the details and outcome thereof; and
- (c) if not, the details of the steps being taken or proposed to be taken by the Government in this regard?

ANSWER MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF RURAL DEVELOPMENT (SHRI RAM KRIPAL YADAV)

- (a) & (b): The Government has constituted District Development Co-ordination and Monitoring Committee (DDCMC) named as "DISHA" in place of District Vigilance & Monitoring Committee to fulfill the objective of ensuring a better coordination among all the elected representatives in Parliament, State Legislatures and Local Governments (Panchayati Raj Institutions/Municipal Bodies) for efficient and time-bound development of districts in the country. These Committees will monitor the implementation of the programmes in accordance with prescribed procedures and guidelines and promote synergy and convergence for greater impact. The composition of DISHA is at **Annexure**.
- (c): Does not arise.

Annexure referred to in part (a) & (b) of the Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No 141 due for reply on 02.02.2017

The composition of District Development Coordination and Monitoring Committee (Disha)

Chairperson: The Chairperson of the Disha should be a Member of Parliament (Lok Sabha) elected from the district, nominated by the Ministry of Rural Development. The criteria for nomination should be the following:

- (i) Where there are more than one Member of Parliament (Lok Sabha) representing the district, the senior-most Member of Parliament (Lok Sabha) should be nominated as the Chairperson. However, the Warrant of Precedence maintained by the Ministry of Home Affairs should be followed, which may result in exceptions.
- (ii) If the district has more than one Parliamentary Constituency (Lok Sabha) as its segments and the senior-most Member of Parliament (Lok Sabha) is made Chairperson of Disha in some other district, the next senior-most Member of Parliament (Lok Sabha) should be the Chairperson.
- (iii) In case of same seniority, the Chairperson should be the Member of Parliament in whose Parliamentary Constituency the largest geographical area of the district falls.

Co-Chairperson:

- (a) The other Members of Parliament (Lok Sabha) representing the district should be designated as Co-Chairpersons.
- (b) **Rajya Sabha MP**: One MP (Rajya Sabha) representing the State and exercising option to be associated with the district level Committee of that district (on first come basis), to be designated as Co-Chairpersons by the Ministry of Rural Development.

 In case the MP from RS is senior following the Warrant of Precedence maintained by the Ministry of Home Affairs, he / she may be made as Chairperson of the committee.

Member Secretary:

The Member Secretary of the Disha should be the District Collector / District Magistrate/ Deputy Commissioner except in cases where specific exemption has been given by the Union Government. In very extraordinary circumstances the District Magistrate/Deputy Commissioner could authorize the CEO Zila Parishad or a Senior ADM to be the Member Secretary for a particular meeting to ensure that meetings of the Disha are held as scheduled.

Members:

The other Members of the Committee should be as follows:

- (i) All Members of the State Legislative Assembly elected from the district.
- (ii) One representative of the State Government / UT Administration.
- (iii) All Mayors / at least the Chairpersons of Municipalities including one woman and five elected heads of Gram Panchayat including two women
- (iv) Chairperson of the Zilla Panchayat.
- (v) Head of the Autonomous District Council in districts having Schedule VI Areas.
- (vi) All Chairpersons of Intermediate Panchayats in the district.
- (vii) Chief Executive Officer of the Zilla Panchayat.
- (viii) Project Director, DRDA/Poverty Alleviation Unit.
- (ix) One Member from a reputed NGO, to be nominated by the Chairperson and the other Members of Parliament in the Committee.
- (x) One representative each of SC, ST and Women to be nominated by the Chairperson and the other Members of Parliament in the Committee.
- (xi) Lead Bank officer of the district.
- (xii) Senior Superintendent/ Superintendent of the Postal Department.
- (xiii) District level nodal functionaries of all Programmes that will be under the purview of Disha.