GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF WATER RESOURCES, RIVER DEVELOPMENT & GANGA REJUVENATION LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 129 ANSWERED ON 02.02.2017

KRISHNA RIVER MANAGEMENT BOARD

129. SHRI B. VINOD KUMAR

Will the Minister of WATER RESOURCES, RIVER DEVELOPMENT AND GANGA REJUVENATION be pleased to state:

(a) whether the Government has reconstituted a committee to assist the Krishna River Management Board (KRMB);

(b) if so, the details along with the terms of reference thereof;

(c) whether the Government has also constituted a committee of irrigation, hydrology and hydro power experts to suggest mechanism for effective functioning of the KRMB as per the provisions of the Andhra Pradesh Reorganization Act, 2014; and

(d) if so, the details thereof along with the objections raised by Telangana, if any, and the action taken/to be taken by the Government in this regard?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE FOR WATER RESOURCES, RIVER DEVELOPMENT & GANGA REJUVENATION (DR. SANJEEV KUMAR BALYAN)

(a) to (d) Ministry of Water Resources, River Development and Ganga Rejuvenation constituted a Committee vide letter dated 7.9.2016 to suggest a mechanism for facilitating the effective functioning of the Krishna River Management Board (KRMB) as per the provisions of the Andhra Pradesh Reorganization Act, 2014. The members of the committee were taken from different fields including experts of Water Resources, Hydro Power and Hydrology. The Terms of Reference of the committee are:

- Preparation of Manual on Operating Rules/Procedures in respect of common projects located on river Krishna.
- (ii) Allocation of Godavari waters being transferred to Krishna Basin in accordance with Godavari Water Disputes Tribunal Award, 1980.

During the first meeting of Apex Council held on 21.9.2016, Government of Telangana raised objections on constitution of the Expert Committee without their prior consultation and pointed out conflict of interest with respect to some members. After consultation with the State Governments, this Ministry reconstituted the Committee vide letter dated 19.12.2016 under the Chairmanship of Shri A K Bajaj, (former Chairman, CWC) and Shri M Gopala Krishnan, Dr. R P Pandey and Shri Pradeep Kumar Shukla as Members and Shri N N Rai as Member Secretary. Further, due to unwillingness of Shri M Gopala Krishnan, this Ministry again reconstituted the aforesaid Committee vide letter dated 09.01.2017 whereby name Shri D. K. Mehta has been included as Member in place of Shri M. Gopala Krishnan.