### GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS

# LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1058 TO BE ANSWERED ON 08.02.2017

#### **DEVELOPMENT OF SOUTH CENTRAL RAILWAYS**

#### + 1058. PROF. RAVINDRA VISHWANATH GAIKWAD:

#### Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

- (a) the total number of proposals (including amount-wise details) received by the Government during the last three years for overall development of Railways in South Central Railway zone and the total number of projects for survey and schemes for approval for construction where survey has been completed: and
- (b) the number of proposals along with their details, accepted by the Government after approving the proposals sent by the South Central Railways?

#### **ANSWER**

## MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS (SHRI RAJEN GOHAIN)

(a) and (b): A Statement is laid on the Table of the House.

\*\*\*\*\*

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) AND (b) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1058 BY PROF. RAVINDRA VISHWANATH GAIKWAD TO BE ANSWERED IN LOK SABHA ON 08.02.2017 REGARDING DEVELOPMENT OF SOUTH CENTRAL RAILWAYS

(a) and (b): Based on demands raised by State Governments, Central Ministries, Members of Parliament, other public representatives and Railways own requirement, the proposals for new line projects are considered. They are taken up after a survey on the basis of remunerativeness, last mile connectivity, missing links and alternate routes, augmentation of congested/saturated lines, socio-economic considerations etc. depending upon throwforward of ongoing projects, overall availability of funds and competing demands.

Surveys taken and work sanctioned during the last three years for doubling/new lines/gauge conversion are as under:-

	Year – 2014-15	5(Surveys)	
S.No.	Survey	Plan Head	Length in km
	-Nil-		
	Year – 2015-16	S(Surveys)	
1.	Singarayakonda-Kanigiri	NL	60
2.	Kothagudem-Kirandul	NL	180
3.	Ghanpur-Suryapet via Palakutri, Kodakandla	NL	170
	Year – 2016-17	(Surveys)	
1.	Vijayawada-Guntur via Amaravati	NL	67(106.30)
2.	Narasapur-Machhilipatnam	NL	85
3.	Darsi-Narsaraopet	NL	65
4.	Cumbum-Ongole	NL	115

5.	Chittor-Kuppam	NL	118
6.	Obulavaripalli-Vayalpadu	NL	150
7.	Tuni-Kottavalasa via Narasipatnam, Chodavaram & Madugula	NL	112
8.	Nallapadu-Bibinagar	NL	243
9.	Bidar-Nanded	NL	127
10.	Mehboobnagar-Dhone	DL	175

Year – 2014-15 Sanctioned work
-Nil-

	2015-16	Sanctioned work		
S.No.	Survey	Plan Head	Length in km	Cost in ₹Cr.
1.	Bye-pass lines at Wadi, Gooty and Renigunta	DL	21	273.05
2.	Kalluru-Guntakal doubling	DL	41	323.09
3.	Kazipet Bye pass line(Hasanparthi-Warangal) & Vijayawada Bye pass line(Vijayawada-Visakhapaptnam & Vijayawada-Secunderabad)	DL	30.15	499.29
4.	Gooty-Dharamavaram Doubling	DL	90.20	636.38
5.	Secunderabad(Falaknuma)- Mehbubnagar doubling	DL	85.24	728.10
6.	Ballarshah-Kazipet 3 <sup>rd</sup> line	DL	201.04	2063.03
7.	Vijayawada-Gudur 3 <sup>rd</sup> line	DL	287.67	3246.00

		2016-17	Sanctioned work		
1.	Guntakal-Guntur		DL	443	4000