# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS

# LOK SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO.92 TO BE ANSWERED ON 08.02.2017

## **AADARSH STATION**

# †\*92. SHRI SUNIL KUMAR SINGH: DR. RAVINDRA KUMAR RAY:

Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

- (a) the number of railway stations upgraded as Aadarsh Station at present along with the details thereof, zone-wise;
- (b) the details of additional facilities provided at these stations *vis-a-vis* other stations;
- (c) whether any target has been fixed to develop all the railway stations of the country as Aadarsh Station and if so, the time by which it is likely to be done along with the details thereof;
- (d) the names of the stations which are proposed to be upgraded as Aadarsh Station as per the announcement made in the Rail Budget 2016-17; and
- (e) whether the Government has received representations from various quarters to develop Latehar, Barvadih, Tori, Mahuamilan, Koderma and Hazaribagh stations of Jharkhand as Aadarsh Station and if so, the details thereof and the action taken/ being taken thereon?

### **ANSWER**

#### **MINISTER OF RAILWAYS**

(SHRI SURESH PRABHAKAR PRABHU)

(a) to (e): A Statement is laid on the Table of the House.

\* \* \* \*

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (e) OF STARRED QUESTION NO. 92 BY SHRI SUNIL KUMAR SINGH AND DR. RAVINDRA KUMAR RAY TO BE ANSWERED IN LOK SABHA ON 08.02.2017 REGARDING AADARSH STATION

(a) to (e): 'Adarsh' Station Scheme has been started since 2009-10 and 1253 stations have been identified for development under this scheme. Gomati Nagar station was the only station included in 2016-17 for development in this scheme. Out of 1253 stations, 1011 stations have already been developed and remaining railway stations are planned to be developed by 2017-18. Zone-wise details of 1011 railway stations are appended.

Selection of railway stations for inclusion under the 'Adarsh' Station Scheme is based on an identified need for upgradation of amenities at stations, which is a continuous and ongoing process. Adarsh Stations are provided with various facilities such as drinking water, adequate toilets, catering services, waiting rooms and dormitories especially for lady passengers, better signage etc.

Three stations namely Tori, Latehar and Barwadih have already been identified for development under 'Adarsh' Station Scheme. The other three stations i.e. Mahuamilan, Koderma and Hazaribagh may be considered for inclusion under this scheme whenever there is any proposal for further selection of more stations under this scheme based on the relative importance of the station and justification based on passengers handled at the station.

\*\*\*\*

APPENDIX REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (e) OF STARRED QUESTION NO. 92 BY SHRI SUNIL KUMAR SINGH AND DR. RAVINDRA KUMAR RAY TO BE ANSWERED IN LOK SABHA ON 08.02.2017 REGARDING AADARSH STATION

S.No.	Zonal Railway	No. of stations
1.	Central	67
2.	Eastern	276
3.	East Central	26
4.	East Coast	27
5.	Northern	69
6.	North Central	30
7.	North Eastern	34
8.	Northeast Frontier	83
9.	North Western	26
10.	Southern	106
11.	South Central	61
12.	South Eastern	82
13.	South East Central	19
14.	South Western	30
15.	Western Railway	55
16.	West Central	20
	Total	1011

\*\*\*\*