### GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF FINANCE DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC AFFAIRS

### LOK SABHA STARRED QUESTION No. \*483

### TO BE ANSWERED ON FRIDAY, 07<sup>TH</sup> APRIL, 2017 [17 Chaitra, 1939 (SAKA)]

#### **CHANGE OF FINANCIAL YEAR**

#### **QUESTION**

#### \* 483. SHRI ABHISHEK SINGH:

Will the Minister of FINANCE be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government is aware of the inconvenience caused due to financial year being April-March which is different from most of the developed countries and if so, the details thereof;
- (b) whether the Government is considering to change the financial year from April-March to January-December so as to make international comparability of fiscal statistics possible and if so, the details thereof; and
- (c) whether the Government has constituted any committee to find out the desirability and feasibility in this regard and if so, the details and outcome thereof?

## ANSWER MINISTER OF FINANCE (SHRI ARUN JAITLEY)

(a) to (c) A statement is laid on the table of the House.

\*\*\*\*

## STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO LOK SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO. 483 RAISED BY SHRI ABHISHEK SINGH, HON'BLE MEMBER OF PARLIAMENT FOR REPLY ON 07<sup>TH</sup> APRIL, 2017

Suggestions have been received in Government, from time to time, for a change of Financial Year for a variety of reasons. The Government had constituted a Committee on 06.07.2016 to examine the desirability and feasibility of having "a new financial year". The terms of reference of the Committee included examining the merits and demerits of various dates for the commencement of the Financial Year, including the existing date. A copy of terms of reference of the Committee is enclosed at Annexure.

\*\*\*\*

# F.No.1(17)-B(AC)/2010 Ministry of Finance Department of Economic Affairs (BUDGET DIVISION)

*North Block, New Delhi, Dated the 6<sup>th</sup> July, 2016.* 

The Government hereby constitutes a Committee to examine the desirability and feasibility of having a new financial year."

- 2. The composition of the Committee is as follows:
  - (i) Dr. Shankar Acharya (Former CEA)

Chairman

(ii) Sh. KM Chandrasekhar (Former Cabinet Secretary) Member

(iii) Sh. PV Rajaraman (Former Finance Secretary, Government of Tamil Nadu)

Member

(iv) Dr. Rajiv Kumar (Senior Fellow, Center for Policy Research) Member

3. The terms of reference (ToR) of the Committee are as under:

Examine the merits and demerits of various dates for the commencement of the financial year including the existing date, taking into account, *inter-alia*, the following:

- (i) The genesis of the current financial year and the studies made in the past on the desirability of change in financial year;
- (ii) The suitability of the financial year from the point of view of
  - a. correct estimation of receipts and expenditure of Central and State Governments;
  - b. the effect of the different agricultural crop periods;
  - c. the relationship of financial year to the working season;
  - d. impact on businesses;
  - e. taxation systems and procedures;
  - f. statistics and data collection;
  - g. the convenience of the legislatures for transacting budget work; and
  - h. other relevant matters.

- 4. The Committee may, after due examination of all relevant factors, recommend the date of commencement of the financial year which in its view is the most suitable for the country.
- 5. In case a change in the financial year is recommended, the Committee may also work out the modalities for effecting the change. This would *inter-alia* include:
  - (i) appropriate timing of change;

(ii) the determination of a transitional period;

(iii) the change in tax laws during the transitional period;

(iv) the amendments that may be required in various statutes; and

- (v) changes in the coverage of the recommendations of the Finance Commission.
- 6. The Committee may interact with experts, institutions, Government Departments and others as deemed necessary.
- 7. The orders regarding Secretariat support, other administrative expenses and other relevant matters shall be issued separately.
- 8. The Committee shall submit its report to the Government by 31<sup>st</sup> December, 2016.

(Prashant Goyal)
Joint Secretary (Budget)

To

- (i) Dr. Shankar Acharya, Former CEA
- (ii) Sh. KM Chandrasekhar, Former Cabinet Secretary
- (iii) Sh. PV Rajaraman, Former Finance Secretary, Tamil Nadu
- (iv) Dr. Rajiv Kumar, Senior Fellow, Center for Policy Research

#### Copy to:-

- (i) PS to FM
- (ii) PSO to FS
- (iii) PPS to Secretary (EA)
- (iv) PPS to JS (B)