GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF MINES

LOK SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO. 419 TO BE ANSWERED ON 30TH MARCH, 2017

REHABILITATION OF DISPLACED FAMILIES

*419. SHRI TATHAGATA SATPATHY:

- (a) the details of the provisions made for compensation and rehabilitation of the families displaced due to mining activities in the country;
- (b) whether the Government is aware that the people of Odisha have time and again pleaded for rehabilitation of oustees from the iron ore mining in the State and if so, the details thereof; and
- (c) the steps taken/proposed to be taken by the Government to rehabilitate the affected families?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) FOR POWER, COAL, NEW & RENEWABLE ENERGY AND MINES (SHRI PIYUSH GOYAL)

(a) to (c): A statement is laid on the table of the House.

THE STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO LOK SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO. 419 REGARDING REHABILITATION OF DISPLACED FAMILES' RAISED BY SHRI. TATHAGATA SATPATHY, MEMBER OF PARLIAMENT FOR REPLY ON 30thMARCH, 2017.

(a) to (c): Minerals (Other than Atomic and Hydro Carbon Energy Minerals) Concession, Rules, 2016 (MOAHCEM Concession Rules, 2016) have been framed under section 13 of the Mines and Minerals (Development and Regulation) (MMDR) Act, 1957 to regulate the manner in which mineral concessions are granted and for purposes connected therewith.

Rule 52 of MOAHCEM Concession Rules, 2016, provides for compensation payable to the owner of the land in which the mining operations are carried out; and Rule 53 of MOAHCEM Concession Rules, 2016, provides for assessment and determination of compensation for damage, if any, done to the land by the reconnaissance or prospecting or mining operations, as the case may be, which shall be payable to the owner of the land.

In addition, as per rule 12 (1) (1) of the said Rules, one of the conditions subject to which a mining lease is granted is that the lessee shall, in the matter of employment, give preference to the tribals and to the persons who are displaced because of the mining operations.

As per information made available by the Government of Odisha, the State Government has informed that for the purpose of dealing with resettlement and rehabilitation matters, the State has formulated the Odisha Resettlement and Rehabilitation Policy, 2006 on 14.5.2016. The State Government has also stated that no specific complaint/plea has been received for rehabilitation of oustees from iron ore mining in the State. The Ministry of Mines has also not received any specific complaint/plea in this regard.

Additionally, Section 9B of the MMDR Act, 1957 provides for establishment of District Mineral Foundation (DMF) to work for the interest and benefit of persons, and areas affected by mining related operations in such manner as may be prescribed by the State Governments.

To facilitate synergy in implementation of DMF across the States, the Government of India has launched the Pradhan Mantri Khanij Kshetra Kalyan Yojana (PMKKKY) with the objective of the welfare of areas and people affected by mining related operations, using the funds generated by DMF. At least 60% of the funds will be utilized for high priority areas like: (i) drinking water supply; (ii) environment preservation and pollution control measures; (iii) health care (iv) education; (v) welfare of women and children; (vi) welfare of aged and disabled people; (vii) skill development; and (viii) Sanitation. The rest of the funds will be utilized for the following: (i) physical infrastructure; (ii) irrigation; (iii) energy and watershed development; and (iv) any other measures for enhancing environmental quality in mining districts.

The Central Government has issued directives to the State Governments, under Section 20A of the MMDR Act, 1957, laying down the guidelines for implementation of

PMKKKY and directing the States to incorporate the same in the rules being framed by them for DMFs.

So far, DMFs have been established in 287 districts in 11 mineral rich states in the country viz., Andhra Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Goa, Gujarat, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Odisha, Rajasthan, and Telangana.
