GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE DEPARTMENT OF ANIMAL HUSBANDRY, DAIRYING AND FISHERIES LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION No. 995 TO BE ANSWERED ON 22ND NOVEMBER, 2016

BAN ON COW SLAUGHTER

995. SHRI RAKESH SINGH:

Will the Minister of AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE कृषि एवं किसान कल्याण मंत्री be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government proposes to ban cow slaughter in the entire country and if so, the details thereof, State-wise;
- (b) the names of the States which have imposed a blanket ban on cow slaughter, State-wise; and
- (c) the time by which the guidelines are likely to be issued by the Government to all the States in this regard?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE FOR AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE (SHRI SUDARSHAN BHAGAT)

(a) to (c) Under the distribution of legislatives powers between the Union of India and States under Article 246(3) of the Constitution, the preservation of cattle is a matter on which the legislature of the States has exclusive powers to legislate. Therefore, it is up to the States to enact laws on slaughter of cows. All States/Union Territories have legislations on slaughter of cows except five States viz Arunachal Pradesh, Kerala, Meghalaya, Mizoram and Nagaland and one Union Territory that is Lakshadweep. The list of States/Union Territories having legislation on banning or restricting slaughter of cow and its progeny is given at Annexure-I and Annexure-II.

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (B) OF THE LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 995 BAN ON COW SLAUGHTER TO BE ANSWERED ON 22nd NOVEMBER 2016.

STATES/UNION TERRITORIES HAVING LEGISLATIONS ON RESTRICTING/PROHIBITING/ BANNING SLAUGHTER OF ANIMALS INCLUDING MILCH ANIMALS LIKE COWS

Name of the States

- 1. Andhra Pradesh
- 2. Assam
- 3. Bihar
- 4. Goa.
- 5. Gujarat
- 6. Haryana
- 7. Himachal Pradesh
- 8. Jammu & Kashmir
- 9. Karnataka
- 10. Madhya Pradesh
- 11. Maharashtra
- 12. Orissa
- 13. Punjab
- 14. Rajasthan
- 15. Sikkim
- 16. Tamil Nadu
- 17. Tripura
- 18. Uttar Pradesh
- 19. West Bengal
- 20. Manipur
- 21. National Capital Territory of Delhi
- 22. Uttrakhand
- 23. Jharkhand
- 24. Chhattisgarh

Name of the Union Territories

- 1. Andaman and Nicobar Island
- 2. Chandigarh
 - 3. Dadra and Nagar Haveli
 - 4. Daman Diu
 - 5. Puducherry

Annexure-II

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (B) OF THE LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION No. 995 REGARDING BAN ON COW SLAUGHTER TO BE ANSWERED ON 22^{nd} NOVEMBER 2016.

STATES/UNION TERRITORIES HAVING NO LEGISLATIONS ON RESTRICTING/PROHIBITING/ BANNING SLAUGHTER OF ANIMALS INCLUDING MILCH ANIMALS LIKE COWS

Name of the States: Name of the Union Territories:

- 1. Arunachal Pradesh 1. Lakshadweep
- 2. Kerala
- 3. Meghalaya
- 4. Mizoram
- 5. Nagaland