GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 978

TO BE ANSWERED ON THE 22NDNOVEMBER, 2016/AGRAHAYANA 1, 1938 (SAKA)

INCLUSION OF LANGUAGES

978. SHRI JANARDAN SINGH SIGRIWAL:

Will the Minister of HOME AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

- (a) the names of languages which have been included in the Eighth Schedule of the Constitution;
- (b) the criteria adopted by the Government for inclusion of more languages in the Eighth Schedule of the Constitution;
- (c) the total number of representations/requests received from various NGOs/Organizations for inclusion of more languages in the Eighth Schedule of the Constitution, language-wise including Bhojpuri; and
- (d) the steps taken by the Government in this regard along with the time by which such languages are likely to be included in the Eighth Schedule of the Constitution?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS (SHRI KIREN RIJIJU)

- (a): The following 22 languages are included in the Eighth Schedule to the Constitution:-
- (1) Assamese, (2) Bengali, (3) Bodo, (4) Dogri, (5) Gujarati, (6) Hindi,

- (7) Kannada, (8) Kashmiri, (9) Konkani, (10) Maithili, (11) Malayalam, (12) Manipuri, (13) Marathi, (14) Nepali, (15) Oriya, (16) Punjabi, (17) Sanskrit, (18) Santhali (19) Sindhi, (20) Tamil, (21) Telugu and (22) Urdu.
- (b): At present there is no established set of objective criteria for inclusion of languages in the Eighth Schedule to the Constitution.
- (c): At present there are demands for inclusion of 38 more languages including Bhojpuri in the Eighth Schedule to the Constitution. These are:
- (1) Angika, (2) Banjara, (3) Bazika, (4) Bhojpuri, (5) Bhoti, (6) Bhotia, (7) Bundelkhandi, (8) Chhattisgarhi, (9) Dhatki, (10) English, (11) Garhwali (Pahari), (12) Gondi, (13) Gujjar/Gujjari (14) Ho, (15) Kachachhi, (16) Kamtapuri, (17) Karbi, (18) Khasi, (19) Kodava (Coorg), (20) Kok Barak, (21) Kumaoni (Pahari), (22) Kurukh, (23) Kurmali, (24) Lepcha, (25) Limbu, (26) Mizo (Lushai), (27) Magahi, (28) Mundari, (29) Nagpuri, (30) Nicobarese, (31) Pahari (Himachali), (32) Pali, (33) Rajasthani,

-3-

L.S.US.Q.NO.978 FOR 22.11.2016

(34) Sambalpuri/Kosali, (35) Shaurseni (Prakrit), (36) Siraiki, (37) Tenyidi

and (38) Tulu.

(d): As the evolution of dialects and languages is dynamic, influenced by

socio-eco-political developments, it is difficult to fix any criterion for

languages, whether to distinguish them from dialects, or for inclusion in

the Eighth Schedule to the Constitution of India. Thus, both attempts,

through the Pahwa (1996) and Sitakant Mohapatra (2003) Committees to

evolve such fixed criteria have not borne fruit.

Since at present there is no established set of objective criteria for

inclusion of languages in the Eighth Schedule to the Constitution, no time-

frame can be fixed for consideration of the demands for inclusion of more

languages in the Eighth Schedule to the Constitution.

*******X**