GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF CULTURE

LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 780 TO BE ANSWERED ON 21.11.2016

SCHOLARSHIP PROVIDED BY CCRT

780. SHRI B. SRIRAMULU:

Will the Minister of **CULTURE** be pleased to state:

- (a) the amount given as scholarships to students by the Centre for Cultural Resources and Training (CCRT);
- (b) the number of recipients of the said scholarship during each of the last two years and the current year, State-wise;
- (c) whether there is any proposal to increase the amount and the number of scholarships awarded; and
- (d) if so, the details thereof?

MINISTER OF STATE (IC) FOR CULTURE & TOURISM (DR. MAHESH SHARMA)

ANSWER

(a) Under the Scheme 'Cultural Talent Search Scholarship Scheme (CTSSS)', an amount of Rs.3600/- per year is given to each scholarship holder of age group of 10 to 14 years, in addition to reimbursement of the actual tuition fee paid to the Guru/Teacher, up to a ceiling of Rs.9000/- per year.

In addition to above CTSS Scheme, the CCRT has recently been entrusted partly with the task of implementing scheme for 'Award of Scholarship to Young Artists (SYA)' under which scholarships are awarded to students in the age group of 18 to 25 years and Rs. 5000/- per month are reimbursed for the advance training in various cultural art forms.

- (b) State-wise break-up of recipients of the scholarship during the last two years and the current year is given at Annexure.
- (c) No, Madam.
- (d) Does not arise.

Annexure referred to in reply to part (b) of the Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No. 780 for answer on 21.11.2016

State wise break-up of the Scholarships awarded under Cultural Talent Search Scholarship Scheme for the year 2014-15, 2015-16 and 2016-17

S.No.	STATE/UTs	YEAR 2014-2015	YEAR 2015-16	YEAR 2016-17
1.	Andhra Pradesh	35	16	10
2.	Arunachal Pradesh	02	_	-
3.	Assam	84	86	74
4.	Bihar	08	11	08
5.	Chhattisgarh	09	11	02
6.	Goa	05	_	32
7.	Gujarat	10	10	-
8.	Haryana	05	05	09
9.	Himachal Pradesh	01	01	06
10.	Jammu & Kashmir	10	04	-
11.	Jharkhand	09	11	-
12.	Karnataka	36	47	05
13.	Kerala	31	44	26
14.	Madhya Pradesh	21	17	47
15.	Maharashtra	46	46	18
16.	Manipur	14	20	33
17.	Meghalaya	08	01	13
18.	Mizoram	00	00	-
19.	Nagaland	13	00	-
20.	Odisha	64	53	-
21.	Punjab	06	06	50
22.	Rajasthan	07	09	11
23.	Sikkim	02	00	05
24.	Tamil Nadu	36	19	16
25.	Telangana		26	-
26.	Tripura	37	41	22
27.	Uttarakhand	03	01	28
28.	Uttar Pradesh	14	20	45
29.	West Bengal	47	56	15
30.	A & N Islands	03	02	02
31.	Chandigarh	01	01	47
32.	Delhi	33	48	-
33.	Dadar & Nagar Haveli	00	00	02
34.	Daman & Diu	00	00	-
35.	Lakshadweep	13	00	-
36.	Puducherry	07	08	-
	TOTAL	620	620	526