GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF TOURISM

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.†747 ANSWERED ON 21.11.2016

YATRI NIWAS

†747. SHRI ASHOK MAHADEORAO NETE:

Will the Minister of TOURISM be pleased to state:

- (a) the total number of 'Yatri Niwas' in various States/UTs at present, location-wise;
- (b) whether there is any proposal to construct new 'Yatri Niwas' in various States during the current financial year; and
- (c) if so, the details thereof, State/UT-wise?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE FOR TOURISM (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) (DR. MAHESH SHARMA)

(a) to (c): Development of accommodation infrastructure is primarily the responsibility of the concerned State Government/UT Administration.

The scheme of the Ministry of Tourism for providing financial assistance for construction of Yatri Niwas has been discontinued from the 10th Plan onwards.

The State-wise and location-wise details of Yatri Niwas sanctioned by the Ministry of Tourism during the 8th and 9th Plan are at Annexure.

STATEMENT IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (c) OF LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.†747 ANSWERED ON 21.11.2016 REGARDING YATRI NIWAS.

Projects sanctioned by Ministry of Tourism for Yatri Niwas during 8^{th} and 9^{th} Plans.

and 9 th Plans.				
SI.	Name of the	No. of	Location	
No.	State/UT	Projects		
1.	Andaman & Nicobar	1	(i) Karmatang	
2.	Andhra Pradesh	7	 (i) Arraku Valley (ii) Vishakapatnam (iii) Tirupati (iv) Yodagirigutta (v) Horsely Hills (vi) Tirumala-Tirupathi (vii) Nagarjuna Sagar 	
3.	Arunachal Pradesh	2	(i) Bameng (ii) Roing (Dibang) Valley	
4.	Assam	3	(i) Barpeta (ii) Bhuban Hills, Silchar (iii) Batadrawa	
5.	Himachal Pradesh	4	(i) Deotridh(ii) Jawalamukhi(iii) Bharmour(iv) Dharamshala	
6.	Jammu & Kashmir	3	(i) Vaishno Devi (ii) Baba Rishi (iii) Patnitop	
7.	Karnataka	10	(i) Dharwar (ii) Gulbarga (iii) Bijapur (iv) Maravanthe (v) Udipi (vi) Hampi (vii) Hassan (viii) Yellammanagudda (ix) Sravanabelagola (x) Talakad, Mysore	

8.	Kerala	6	 (i) Peerumedu (ii) Calicut (iii) Malayattur (iv) Alleppey (v) Kondotti (vi) Kumily
9.	Madhya Pradesh	1	(i) Hossangabad
10.	Maharashtra	1	(i) Jothiba, Kolhapur
11.	Manipur	1	(i) Imphal
12.	Orissa	4	(i) Puri(ii) Chandipur(iii) Satpuda (Chilka Lake)(iv) Konark
13.	Punjab	1	(i) Fatehgarh Sahib
14.	Tamil Nadu	3	(i) Rameshwaram(ii) Samayapuram(iii) Tiruvananmalai
15.	Uttarakhand	2	(i) Gauchar (ii) Guptkashi (Rudraprayag)
16.	West Bengal	1	(i) New Jalpaiguri
