GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF TOURISM

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.692 ANSWERED ON 21.11.2016

E-VISA SCHEME

692. ADV. NARENDRA KESHAV SAWAIKAR:

Will the Minister of TOURISM be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of the e-visa scheme launched by the Government in 2014;
- (b) whether the scheme has recently been extended to some more countries and if so, the details thereof;
- (c) whether e-visa scheme was launched to attract more tourists and promote business interest in the country; and
- (d) if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE FOR TOURISM (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) (DR. MAHESH SHARMA)

- (a) and (b): Government of India introduced e-Tourist Visa (earlier known as Tourist Visa on Arrival enabled by ETA) to facilitate foreign travelers visiting India to the nationals of the 43 countries on 27.11.2014. At present, this scheme has been extended to 150 countries arriving at 16 International Airports in India. Details of countries is at Annexure.
- (c) and (d): The e-visa scheme was launched by the Government of India to attract more tourists and promote business opportunities in the country.

During January-December 2015 a total of 4,45,300 tourists arrived availing e-Tourist Visa as compared to 39,046 visa issued during January-December 2014 registering a growth of 1040.4%.

During 2016 from January to October, a total number of 780570 tourists from various countries availed this scheme registering a growth of 202.3% over the same period of 2015. This high growth may be attributed to introduction of e-Tourist Visa.

STATEMENT IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) AND (b) OF LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.692 ANSWERED ON 21.11.2016 REGARDING E-VISA SCHEME.

DETAILS OF COUNTRIES ELIGIBLE FOR E-TOURIST VISA

Albania, Andorra, Anguilla, Antigua & Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Aruba, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Barbados, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Canada, Cape Verde, Cayman Island, Chile, China, China- SAR Hongkong, China- SAR Macau, Colombia, Comoros, Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Cote d'Ivoire, Croatia, Cuba, Czech Republic, Denmark, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, East Timor, Ecuador, El Salvador, Eritrea, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Kiribati, Laos, Latvia, Lesotho, Liberia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Malta, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Moldova, Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro, Montserrat, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nauru, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niue Island, Norway, Oman, Palau, Palestine, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Republic of Macedonia, Romania, Russia, Saint Christopher and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent & the Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Suriname, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Tonga, Trinidad & Tobago, Turks & Caicos Island, Tuvalu, UAE, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Uruguay, USA, Vanuatu, Vatican City-Holy See, Venezuela, Vietnam, Zambia and Zimbabwe.
