## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RURAL DEVELOPMENT DEPARTMENT OF RURAL DEVELOPMENT

#### LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 4814 TO BE ANSWERED ON 15.12.2016

## PENALTY FOR DELAYS IN PAYMENT OF WAGES

## 4814. SHRI AJAY MISRA TENI:

Will the Minister of **RURAL DEVELOPMENT** be pleased to state:

- (a) whether there is a delay in payment under Mahatma Gandhi National Rural Employment Guarantee Scheme (MGNREGS) despite the linkage with Aadhaar Card;
- (b) if so, the details of the delay in payment of wages during the last two years, State/UT-wise;
- (c) whether the State Governments are compensating the workers by paying the penalty for delay in payments; and
- (d) if so, the details of the fine/penalty paid on delay of payments under MGNREGS during the last two years, State/UT-wise?

## ANSWER

## MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF RURAL DEVELOPMENT (SHRI RAM KRIPAL YADAV)

(a)&(b): Details of delay in wage payment under Mahatma Gandhi National Rural Employment Guarantee Act (MGNREGA) during the last two years are given at **Annexure-I.** 

(c): All cases of delayed payment attract compensation @ 0.05% per day of delay. The delayed compensation is paid by the State Governments.

(d): State/UT-wise details of delayed compensation paid to MGNREGA workers under MGNREGA during the last two years are given in **Annexure-II.** 

\*\*\*\*

# Annexure I referred in reply to part (a) & (b) of Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No. 4814 dated 15.12.2016.

		Percentage of delay	
		in wage	
S.No.	State	2014-15	2015-16
1	ANDHRA PRADESH	58.81	19.48
2	ARUNACHAL PRADESH	69.73	91.11
3	ASSAM	68.20	79.96
4	BIHAR	84.14	85.22
5	CHHATTISGARH	71.20	92.36
6	GOA	57.67	69.35
7	GUJARAT	55.01	65.70
8	HARYANA	83.09	70.17
9	HIMACHAL PRADESH	80.55	70.36
10	JAMMU AND KASHMIR	89.69	87.23
11	JHARKHAND	31.94	28.35
12	KARNATAKA	88.50	69.37
13	KERALA	84.14	80.46
14	MADHYA PRADESH	84.07	72.41
15	MAHARASHTRA	74.03	65.38
16	MANIPUR	12.62	17.93
17	MEGHALAYA	93.50	99.25
18	MIZORAM	1.71	20.86
19	NAGALAND	80.96	96.47
20	ODISHA	80.39	63.03
21	PUNJAB	96.79	86.22
22	RAJASTHAN	61.23	54.79
23	SIKKIM	56.71	57.84
24	TAMIL NADU	71.69	68.28
25	TELANGANA	64.34	31.83
26	TRIPURA	30.98	43.79
27	UTTAR PRADESH	81.70	79.97
28	UTTARAKHAND	67.48	75.59
29	WEST BENGAL	95.83	82.80
30	ANDAMAN AND NICOBAR	82.03	87.14
31	LAKSHADWEEP	49.96	38.32
32	PUDUCHERRY	53.68	79.84
	Total	71.61	63.03
Sour	ce: NREGASoft	. I	

Source: NREGASoft

## Annexure II referred in reply to part (d) of Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No. 4814 dated 15.12.2016.

		Delayed compensation paid [Rs. In Lakh]	
SI.No.	State	2014-16	2015-16
1	ANDHRA PRADESH	0.00	47.11
2	ARUNACHAL PRADESH	0.57	467.82
3	ASSAM	0.00	0.00
4	BIHAR	0.00	36.65
5	CHHATTISGARH	0.00	13.98
6	GOA	0.00	2.32
7	GUJARAT	0.00	0.20
8	HARYANA	0.00	0.47
9	HIMACHAL PRADESH	0.00	1.87
10	JAMMU AND KASHMIR	0.00	0.00
11	JHARKHAND	10.86	121.13
12	KARNATAKA	0.96	1.79
13	KERALA	0.00	2.05
14	MADHYA PRADESH	1.62	58.67
15	MAHARASHTRA	716.52	534.09
16	MANIPUR	0.00	1.39
17	MEGHALAYA	0.00	101.76
18	MIZORAM	0.00	32.79
19	NAGALAND	0.00	0.00
20	ODISHA	0.42	9.32
21	PUNJAB	2.26	136.86
22	RAJASTHAN	1.38	18.98
23	SIKKIM	0.00	6.90
24	TAMIL NADU	0.00	9.11
25	TELANGANA	0.00	396.23
26	TRIPURA	0.00	0.43
27	UTTAR PRADESH	0.00	0.00
28	UTTARAKHAND	0.02	24.63
29	WEST BENGAL	4.79	7.03
30	ANDAMAN & NICOBAR	0.00	0.00
31	LAKSHADWEEP	0.00	0.00
32	PUDUCHERRY	0.00	0.00
	Total	739.40	2033.58

Source: NREGASoft