#### **GOVERNMENT OF INDIA**

#### MINISTRY OF INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING

### **LOK SABHA**

## UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 4597 TO BE ANSWERED ON 14.12.2016

#### RECORD OF BOOKS

#### 4597. SHRI D.K. SURESH:

Will the Minister of INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING be pleased to state:
(a) whether the Government has any mechanism in place to keep a record of books published in the country;

- (b) if so, whether all the books published in Indian languages listed in the eight schedule of the constitution are listed in the records; and
- (c) if so, the details thereof and if not, the reasons therefor?

#### **ANSWER**

# MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF INFORMATION & BROADCASTING (COL RAJYAVARDHAN RATHORE (Retd.))

(a) to (c) Yes, Sir. As per Clause 18 of the Press and Registration of Books Act (PRB Act), 1867 State Governments are required to maintain a catalogue of books, printed in India, called 'Catalogue of Books'. This catalogue inter-alia includes the language in which the book is written. A copy of all books printed are required to be delivered free of expenses by the printer to the Officers notified by the State Governments.

Moreover, Ministry of Culture also administer THE DELIVERY OF BOOKS AND NEWSPAPERS (PUBLIC LIBRARIES) ACT, 1954. The Act provides that every publisher has to send its publication (documents/Books) to the National Library, Kolkata.

As per the 8<sup>th</sup> Schedule of the Constitution there are 22 languages recognized as Indian languages. However, the Central Reference Library, Kolkata is the National Bibliographic Agency to compile the Indian National Bibliography on the basis of books in 14 languages only, viz. Assamese, Bengali, English, Gujrati, Hindi, Kannada, Malayalam, Marathi, Odia, Sanskrit, Tamil, Telugu, Urdu and Punjabi.

\*\*\*\*\*\*