GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF EARTH SCIENCES LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION No. 4407 TO BE ANSWERED ON WEDNESDAY, DECEMBER 14, 2016

SEISMIC MICROZONATION

4407. SHRIMATI KIRRON KHER:

Will the Minister of EARTH SCIENCES be pleased to state:

- (a) the names of the cities where Government proposes to carry out seismic microzonation;
- (b) the details of criteria fixed for selection of such cities; and
- (c) the funds likely to be spent in this regard?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE FOR MINISTRY OF SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY AND MINISTRY OF EARTH SCIENCES (SHRI Y. S. CHOWDARY)

- (a) National Centre for Seismology (NCS) has a project of seismic microzonation of thirty cities. A list of such cities is attached in Annexure-I.
- (b) Earthquake prone areas of the country have been identified on the basis of scientific inputs relating to seismicity, earthquakes occurred in the past and tectonic setup of the region. Based on these inputs, Bureau of Indian Standards [IS 1893 (Part I):2002], has grouped the country into four seismic zones, viz. Zone II, III, IV and V. Of these, Zone V is seismically the most active region, while zone II is the least. These cities are selected based on criteria of their location in seismic zone V, IV or III as per Bureau of Indian Standard publication [IS 1983 (Part I):2002] and having population more than half a million.
- (c) Approximately Rs 90 (ninety) crores are estimated to be spent for this work.

Annexure-I

List of cities planned for Seismic Microzonation

Sr.No.	City	State	Seismic zone
1.	Srinagar	Jammu & Kashmir	V, IV
2.	Patna	Bihar	IV, III
3.	Meerut	Uttar Pradesh	IV
4.	Jammu	Jammu & Kashmir	IV
5.	Amritsar	Punjab	IV
6.	Jallandhar	Punjab	IV
7.	Bhavnagar	Gujarat	111
8.	Surat	Gujarat	Ш
9.	Bhiwandi	Maharashtra	Ш
10.	Nashik	Maharashtra	111
11.	Pune	Maharashtra	IV, III
12.	Bhubaneshwar	Orissa	111
13.	Cuttack	Orissa	111, 11
14.	Chennai	Tamil Nadu	III
15.	Kolkata	West Bengal	III, [IV(border)]
16.	Vadodara	Gujarat	III
17.	Coimbatore	Tamilnadu	111, 11
18.	Agra	Uttar Pradesh	III
19.	Varanasi	Uttar Pradesh	111
20.	Bareilly	Uttar Pradesh	III
21.	Lucknow	Uttar Pradesh	III
22.	Kanpur	Uttar Pradesh	III
23.	Indore	Madhya Pradesh	III, II
24.	Vijayawada	Andhra Pradesh	III
25.	Dhanbad	Jharkhand	III
26.	Mangalore	Karnataka	III
27.	Kochi	Kerala	III
28.	Kozhikode	Kerala	Ш
29.	Thiruvanathpuram	Kerala	111
30.	Asansol	West Bengal	Ш